North Zone v East Zone, Duleep Trophy semi-final, 5th day

North Zone win coin toss to make Duleep final

ESPNcricinfo staff

October 14, 2013

Comments: 5 | Text size: A | A

North Zone 591 for 8 dec (ID Singh 145, Chand 116, Paliwal 106*, Saini 101*, Gupta 4-182) drew with East Zone 32 for 1
North Zone qualified after winning the coin toss

North Zone won a coin toss to qualify for the Duleep Trophy final, after their semi-final against East Zone was called off without either team securing a first-innings lead due to a wet outfield.

Persistent rain had washed out the fourth day - the scheduled final day - pushing the match into a reserve day. Even though the weather cleared up, the umpires were not happy with certain areas of the outfield, making play impossible even on the extra day. So, as per the rules, they organised a toss between North Zone captain Harbhajan Singh and Shahbaz Nadeem, the East Zone captain.

Before the game was interrupted, North Zone had declared their innings at an imposing 591 for 8, with centuries from Unmukt Chand, Ian Dev Singh, Rajat Paliwal and Nitin Saini. In reply, East Zone were 32 for 1 at the end of the third day. Under the circumstances, the umpires had decided that if conditions on the reserve day were suitable, play would be called off once a first-innings lead had been established.

North Zone will now play South Zone in the final, which starts on October 17 in Kochi.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by mmmuthukumar on (October 14, 2013, 14:57 GMT)

BCCI should alert an alternate venue for the finals in case rains play spoilsport

Posted by IndianEagle on (October 14, 2013, 13:31 GMT)

what a shame? Toss decides qualification, that too for final? One T20 could be better idea than these toss!

Posted by anshu.s on (October 14, 2013, 12:48 GMT)

@anupkeni, totally agree with you there, in the end things turned farcical with a coin toss needed to adjudge the winners and i am relieved Bhajji called right and it would be a north-south finals with both established and young future stars on show..

If the forecast is bad then BCCI need to shift the finals out of Kochi just like CLT20 matches were taken out of Ahmedabad recently.Stadium in Kochi is essentialy a Football one and drainage is really bad, even 6 hours of blazing sunshine did not help matters,pitch was also a featherbed with no promise of a sporting contest between bat and ball .

Posted by spant on (October 14, 2013, 11:51 GMT)

Though stronger team won the toss, at the same time some of the blame for no result should go to Harbhajan for late declaration of the innings. Considering the weather, a more pro-active and aggressive approach was required. With the kind of attack North Zone had, a score of 450 should have been considered safe (in view of weather forecast). Imagine, North loosing toss with such a strong contingent!!!

Posted by anupkeni on (October 14, 2013, 11:44 GMT)

Will the Duleep Trophy final also be decided by a coin toss or will the BCCI shift the final out of Kochi if it continues to rain there? It is obvious that grounds at Kochi, Goa and Ahmedabad have age-old outdated drainage facilities, where it is impossible to play even on a bright sunny day if there has been any overnight rain.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
North Zone v South Zone at Kochi - Oct 17-21, 2013
Match drawn
East Zone v North Zone at Kochi - Oct 10-14, 2013
Match drawn
Central Zone v South Zone at Chennai - Oct 10-13, 2013
South Zone won by an innings and 38 runs
South Zone v West Zone at Chennai - Oct 3-6, 2013
Match drawn (South Zone won on 1st innings)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days