Central Zone v East Zone, Duleep Trophy quarter-final, 4th day

Central progress despite Tiwary century

Cricinfo staff

January 22, 2010

Text size: A | A

Central Zone 480 for 8 dec (Kaif 202*, Parvinder 113, Raina 98) drew with East Zone 290 (Tiwary 102*, Das 52)

Manoj Tiwary compounded Mumbai's troubles with an unbeaten 80, Mumbai v Rest of India, Irani Cup, Nagpur, 4th day, October 4, 2009
Manoj Tiwary's century wasn't enough to prevent East Zone's elimination © ESPNcricinfo Ltd
Related Links
Players/Officials: Manoj Tiwary
Series/Tournaments: Duleep Trophy | India Domestic Season
Teams: India

Manoj Tiwary made a battling century but could not prevent East Zone from being eliminated from the Duleep Trophy after conceding the first-innings lead to Central Zone, who progressed to the semi-finals where they will face South Zone in Indore from Tuesday.

As on the first three days, bad light and fog ruled out play for several hours on Friday as well. It was only half an hour after lunch that play began on the final day, and East lost opener Arindham Das in the fifth over of the morning soon after he crossed his half-century. That brought in Manoj, who made his 11th first-class hundred to guide East's effort.

East had virtually no chance of overhauling Central's mammoth first-innings score of 480, and their best chance lay in not getting bowled out and advancing on the basis of a better run-rate than their opposition in the match.

However, those hopes melted away with a couple of triple-strikes from Central. Manoj watched as the middle-order trio of Ishank Jaggi, captain Saurabh Tiwary and Wriddhiman Saha fell in the space of eight deliveries - East slipping from 131 for 2 to 133 for 5. There was some resistance from Manoj and Dhiraj Goswami but East again lost three wickets in ten balls to hurtle towards the exit. Manoj remained unbeaten on 102 when last man Abu Nechim holed out to Suresh Raina off RP Singh to confirm Central's place in the last four.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
South Zone v West Zone at Hyderabad (Deccan) - Feb 2-6, 2010
West Zone won by 3 wickets
Central Zone v South Zone at Indore - Jan 26-29, 2010
South Zone won by 5 wickets
North Zone v West Zone at Rajkot - Jan 26-29, 2010
Match drawn (West Zone won on 1st innings)
Central Zone v East Zone at Amritsar - Jan 19-22, 2010
Match drawn
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days
Sponsored Links

Why not you? Read and learn how!