Emerging Players Tournament July 29, 2011

India and South Africa cruise to wins

ESPNcricinfo staff

In the only round of fifty-over matches in the tournament India Emerging Players crushed Australian Insititute of Sport by seven wickets at Fred Kratzman Oval. Medium-pacer Vinay Kumar did the early damage before the spinners nabbed five wickets in less than eight overs to roll Australia over for 99. Vinay had Australia down to 20 for 3, when Glenn Maxwell started to hit out, two fours and a six taking him to 22 before he became the first of an Umesh Yadav double-strike. Left-arm spinner Bhargav Bhatt continued the demolition job and the part-time spin of Shikhar Dhawan surprisingly resulted in three scalps to close out the innings. India's openers, S Anirudha and Ajinkya Rahane, then blasted 70 in less than ten overs and though a mini-blip followed, the chase was completed in the 19th over.

The other match was also one-sided, though not as comprehensively, with South Africa Emerging Players coasting to a five-wicket win over New Zealand A at Peter Burge Oval. New Zealand made a solid start with BJ Watling's half-century leading them to 99 for 1 before things fell apart. Offspinner Dane Piedt struck in successive overs and Dean Brownlie was run out soon after as New Zealand slid to 114 for 4. Doug Bracewell resisted with 32 and Neil Broom chipped in with 25 but only one other batsman made it to double digits as they were bowled for 187. South Africa's chase was given a high-octane start as their captain Richard Levi lashed 26 off 14 deliveries. The other opener, Reeza Hendricks, was a bit more restrained but made a more substantial score - his 60 guiding the South African reply. Thirties from JJ Smuts and Temba Bevumba then shut New Zealand out of the game.