Bill Fairservice      

Full name William John Fairservice

Born May 16, 1881, Nunhead, London

Died June 26, 1971, Canterbury, Kent (aged 90 years 41 days)

Major teams Kent

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Right-arm medium, Right-arm offbreak

Other Coach

Relation Son - C Fairservice

Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
First-class 302 419 96 4939 61* 15.29 0 9 164 0
Bowling averages
Mat Balls Runs Wkts BBI Ave Econ SR 5w 10
First-class 302 44889 19419 859 7/44 22.60 2.59 52.2 39 7
Career statistics
First-class span 1902 - 1921
Profile

William John Fairservice, who died on June 26, aged 90, played as a professional off-break bowler of medium pace for Kent from 1902 to 1921. In normal circumstances, he could well have achieved greater fame; but, with such noted bowlers as Colin Blythe and Frank Woolley as team-mates, his opportunities were limited. Not till after the First World War, indeed, did he command a regular place in the county side and the only season in which he took 100 wickets was that of 1920. That summer he dismissed 113 batsmen at a cost of 17.46 runs apiece, showing his ability on rain-affected pitches by earning match-figures of 10 wickets for 58 runs against Surrey at Blackheath and nine wickets for 62 runs against Worcestershire at Tonbridge.

  • Read More
Latest Articles
Country Fixtures Country Results
Hampshire v Middlesex at Southampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Kent v Glamorgan at Canterbury
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 3: Norfolk Wmn v Scot Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (10:00 GMT | 01:58 EDT | 00:58 CDT | 22:58 PDT -1d)
Northants v Derbyshire at Northampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Notts v Yorkshire at Nottingham
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Somerset v Lancashire at Taunton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Surrey v Durham at The Oval
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Sussex v Leics at Hove
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Worcs v Essex at Worcester
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 2: Lancashire Women v Ire. Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 01:58 EDT | 00:58 CDT | 22:58 PDT -1d)
Division 3: Northants Wm v Neth Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 01:58 EDT | 00:58 CDT | 22:58 PDT -1d)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days