MCC committee elections March 11, 2004

Heyhoe-Flint breaks down another male barrier

Wisden Cricinfo staff

One of the last bastions of male supremacy crumbled this morning with the news that Rachael Heyhoe-Flint has become the first female MCC committee member.

"It is a tremendous honour, and I am indebted to everyone who voted for me," said Heyhoe-Flint, who was one of the first women admitted to the club when the all-male rule was abolished in 1999. "It's a particular pleasure to know that I'll be joining the committee at one of the most exciting times in the distinguished history of the club."

As well as Heyhoe-Flint, Mike Griffith, John Fingleton and Andrew Beeson were elected to the new committee which takes over on October 1.