Twenty two of the best players on show May 4, 2005

Teams announced for Lord's tsunami match

Cricinfo staff

Sachin Tendulkar will lead MCC against an International XI © Getty Images

A star-studded line-up of players has been announced for the tsunami appeal match between MCC and an International XI at Lord's on June 14. Eight of the Test nations are represented - England and Bangladesh will be involved in the NatWest Series - with six of the top-ten batsmen and three of the top-five bowlers taking part.

MCC will be captained by Sachin Tendulkar and includes Chris Gayle, following his triple-century against South Africa in Antigua. Muttiah Muralitharan and Shoaib Akhtar form part of a formidable bowling attack.

The International XI is led by Brian Lara, who will line up with his current West Indies captain Shivnarine Chanderpaul. Shane Warne is Australia's sole representative in the match - his team-mates will be also be competing in the NatWest Series - while Virender Sehwag, Sanath Jayasuriya and Rahul Dravid form a thrilling top order.

Andy Flower, the former Zimbabwe captain, is the only player who is not on the international circuit. He continues his association with MCC, following his appearance in the first match of the season against Warwickshire and in the same fixture at the start of the 2004 season.

Tom Graveney, MCC's president, said: "I am delighted that we have been able to name such strong teams for this match; we are indebted to the players for agreeing to participate in what will be a very special game. I hope that as many people as possible will be able to come to Lord's on June 14 to enjoy the unique opportunity of seeing some of the world's leading cricketers testing their skills against their national team-mates."

Tickets are priced at £20-£30 for adults and £10 for children. They can be purchased from MCC's Ticket Office either on-line - via - or by telephone (020 7432 1000).

MCC 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Stephen Fleming, 3 Ramnaresh Sarwan, 4 Sachin Tendulkar (capt), 5 Jacques Kallis, 6 Andy Flower, 7 Kumar Sangakkara, 8 Shaun Pollock, 9 Anil Kumble, 10 Muttiah Muralitharan, 11 Shoaib Akhtar.

International XI 1 Virendar Sehwag, 2 Sanath Jayasuriya, 3 Graeme Smith, 4 Rahul Dravid, 5 Brian Lara (capt), 6 Shivnarine Chanderpaul, 7 Chris Cairns, 8 Shane Warne, 9 Chaminda Vaas, 10 Mohammad Sami, 11 Makhaya Ntini.