Australian umpire defends Ganguly caught behind July 31, 2007

Taufel 'very upset' over Tendulkar decision

Cricinfo staff
  shares



Sachin Tendulkar missed out on a hundred after Paul Collingwood's appeal was accepted by Simon Taufel © Getty Images
Simon Taufel, the Australian umpire, said that he was "very upset" at having wrongly given Sachin Tendulkar out leg-before on the third day of the second Test at Trent Bridge.

"I always look at the big screen after giving a decision. And the minute I saw the replay of Sachin's dismissal, I knew I got it wrong," Taufel told Sky Sports commentators David Lloyd and David Gower, according to agency reports.

Taufel was sorry for mistakenly denying fans the chance to watch their favourites at the crease. "The big disappointment is that people come to watch the top players and I gave him out wrongly. That upset me."

But Taufel, who has won the ICC Best Umpire of the Year award for three successive years, defended his decision to give Sourav Ganguly out caught behind on the leg side.

"However, I would have given Ganguly out every time," he said.

David Lloyd told Sky Sports viewers that even VVS Laxman - who was at the non-striker's end - heard a sound when the ball passed Ganguly's bat.

Taufel had also incorrectly given Rahul Dravid and Kevin Pietersen out in the first Test at Lord's.