Sri Lanka in England

Winner - Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians won their first IPL title by beating Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in the final at Eden Gardens
Mumbai Indians won their first IPL title by beating Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in the final at Eden Gardens © Pragyan Ojha - Twitter


    The serpent in the garden

Ramachandra Guha: The entire structure of the IPL is a denial of the rights of equal citizenship that a truly 'national' game should promote

    The BCCI must do right by the fans

Harsha Bhogle: The board must give assurance that it intends on a clean-up, or it won't be long before the government steps in

    What the IPL can learn from Champions League football

Ed Smith: One of these tournaments is rich, revered and rigorous in its demand for high standards. It's not the cricket one

    What makes players cheat?

Aakash Chopra: Getting away with deceit can provide a certain high. For some, the rewards of cheating will always outweigh the potential consequences

    'Srinivasan's position hopelessly untenable'

Sharda Ugra, Jayaditya Gupta and Nitin Sundar discuss what the BCCI can do to clean up the system

    Video/Audio »   Magazine »    Page 2 »


Mind games in Melbourne

Stadiums equate to their cities in the casual cricket watcher's imagination. Melbourne does too, but repeat visits amplify its charms. By Sharda Ugra


What I despise most about fixing

Samir Chopra: That it distracts me from the real thing and tells me that I am wasting my time, that I'd do better to find other ways to while away the hours

'BCCI is a vindictive organisation and players are scared of protesting'

The Cricket Couch: Journalist Kadambari Murali on an exposé she led on fixing in 2011

The honorary son-in-law

Cricket News Hurl: This week we look at how painful it is to have relatives, and to be an IPL franchise, but how great it is to be an Australian female cricketer right now

Points Table

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts Net RR
Super Kings 16 11 5 0 0 22 +0.530
Mum Indians 16 11 5 0 0 22 +0.441
Royals 16 10 6 0 0 20 +0.322
Sunrisers 16 10 6 0 0 20 +0.003
RCB 16 9 7 0 0 18 +0.457
Kings XI 16 8 8 0 0 16 +0.226
KKR 16 6 10 0 0 12 -0.095
Warriors 16 4 12 0 0 8 -1.006
Daredevils 16 3 13 0 0 6 -0.848

Boundary Meter

Quote Unquote

N Srinivasan explains his son-in-law Gurunath Meiyappan's frequent presence in the Chennai Super Kings dugout

Sachin Tendulkar poses with the IPL Trophy with Mumbai Indians owner Nita Ambani and his wife Anjali
© Mumbai Indians
Nita Ambani, owner of Mumbai Indians, with the victorious team
© Mumbai Indians
Harbhajan Singh with the IPL trophy
© Harbhajan Singh - Twitter
Rohit Sharma, Pragyan Ojha, Harbhajan Singh and Sachin Tendulkar with the trophy
© Pragyan Ojha - Twitter
N Srinivasan at a press conference in Kolkata
© Hindustan Times
Sreesanth looks in the distance as he leaves Saket District Court


MS Dhoni (c/wk) Srikkanth Anirudha
Baba Aparajith Ravichandran Ashwin
S Badrinath Dwayne Bravo
Akila Dananjaya Faf du Plessis
Ben Hilfenhaus Jason Holder
Michael Hussey Imtiaz Ahmed
Ravindra Jadeja Shadab Jakati
R Karthikeyan Nuwan Kulasekara
Ben Laughlin Ronit More
Albie Morkel Chris Morris
Dirk Nannes Suresh Raina
Ankit Rajpoot Wriddhiman Saha (wk)
Vijay Shankar Mohit Sharma
Murali Vijay
Tournament Results
Super Kings v Mum Indians at Kolkata - May 26, 2013
Mum Indians won by 23 runs
Mum Indians v Royals at Kolkata - May 24, 2013
Mum Indians won by 4 wickets (with 1 ball remaining)
Royals v Sunrisers at Delhi - May 22, 2013
Royals won by 4 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)
Super Kings v Mum Indians at Delhi - May 21, 2013
Super Kings won by 48 runs
Sunrisers v KKR at Hyderabad (Deccan) - May 19, 2013
Sunrisers won by 5 wickets (with 7 balls remaining)
Warriors v Daredevils at Pune - May 19, 2013
Warriors won by 38 runs
More results »
2831 The most runs scored in a single season by any team - Chennai Super Kings set this record in 2012.
6 The number of players to score over 200 runs and pick up 15 or more wickets in a single tournament. Kieron Pollard is the only player to achieve the feat twice.
3 The number of times teams have won the match after being bowled out batting first. Chennai Super Kings, Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals have each done it once.
6 The number of fifty-plus stands between Rahul Dravid and Ajinkya Rahane in 2012, the highest for a pair in a single season of the IPL
1 The number of players to top the run-charts in two seasons. Chris Gayle is the only player to do that, in 2011 and 2012.
9 The most fifty-plus scores for a player in defeats, for Jacques Kallis. Shikhar Dhawan is second, with seven fifty-plus scores in losses.
158 The highest number of runs in boundaries hit by a team chasing, by Rajasthan Royals in the match against Chennai Super Kings in 2010.
19 The number of wickets taken by Lasith Malinga against Deccan Chargers and Amit Mishra against Rajasthan Royals, the most by a bowler against a particular opposition
16 The number of bowled dismissals for Lasith Malinga in IPL 2011, the most for a bowler in a single IPL season
206 The highest partnership in a match. Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh put together 206 for Kings XI Punjab against Rajasthan Royals in 2011.
5 The most number of sixes hit by a batsman in an over in the IPL. Chris Gayle of the Royal Challengers Bangalore struck 5 sixes in an over from Rahul Sharma of Pune Warriors in 2012.
469 The most number of runs scored in a single match. Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals played out the highest scoring match of all seasons in 2010.