MCG
1853
90,000
172.9m long, 147.8m wide
Since March 1985
Members End, Great Southern Stand End
Australia, Victoria
Australian Rules Football, Soccer, Rugby Union, Rugby League, Lawn Bowls, Squash
David Sandurski
22:03, Sat Sep 21, 2019 (UTC +1000)
Melbourne Cricket Ground
 

Records and statistics

Australia v England - Mar 15-19, 1877 Scorecard
Australia v India - Dec 26-30, 2018 Scorecard
Test records | Results | High totals | High scores | Most runs | Best bowling | Most wickets | Partnerships | Statsguru
Australia v England - Jan 5, 1971 Scorecard
Australia v India - Jan 18, 2019 Scorecard
ODI records | Results | High totals | High scores | Most runs | Best bowling | Most wickets | Partnerships | Statsguru
Australia v India - Feb 1, 2008 Scorecard
Australia v India - Nov 23, 2018 Scorecard
T20I records | Results | High totals | High scores | Most runs | Best bowling | Most wickets | Partnerships | Statsguru
Records index

Profile

The Melbourne Cricket Ground is regarded as Australia's premier sporting venue. For over one hundred years, it has played host to many of the country's biggest cricket and Australian Rules Football matches, and many other significant sporting contests besides. It was, in fact, even the centrepiece of the Olympic Games of 1956. The 'G (as it is affectionately known by the people of Melbourne) is located a short distance to the east of the city's CBD and is easily accessible by both public transport and by foot; it is common, for example, for business people to walk to the arena after work to watch the second session of day-night cricket internationals. Prior to a series of developments in the 1980s and 1990s, it possessed a capacity of around 125,000; since that time, the extension of individual seating to virtually all of its reaches has reduced that figure to somewhere closer to 97,000. In short, it is an imposing stadium: the three-tiered Great Southern Stand (completed in 1992) bounds the perimeter of one half of the ground and holds close to 50,000 people; there are also vast banks of seating in the Ponsford Stand, Olympic Stand and Members' Reserve. It is also replete with a Gallery of Sport, two giant electronic scoreboards, and a vast array of corporate and media facilities.

Notwithstanding the fact that various curators drew fire from players and spectators alike for producing a succession of wearing, low bouncing surfaces through the 1980s and early 1990s, pitches at the MCG have, for most of its history, generally facilitated well balanced contests between bat and ball. No better has this been exemplified than in famous matches in its recent past such as the 1982-83 Test between Australia and England; the thrilling Australia-New Zealand decider in 1987-88; and the 1992 World Cup Final between Pakistan and England.
Cricinfo staff

Fixtures

2019
Fri Nov 1 (20 ovs)          
19:10 local | 08:10 GMT
04:10 EDT | 03:10 CDT | 01:10 PDT
3rd T20I - Australia v Sri Lanka
Tue Nov 12 - Fri Nov 15
10:30 local | 23:30 GMT
18:30 EST | 17:30 CST | 15:30 PST
Marsh Sheffield Shield
Victoria v Queensland
Sun Nov 17 (50 ovs)          
15:00 local | 04:00 GMT
23:00 EST | 22:00 CST | 20:00 PST
The Marsh Cup
Victoria v New South Wales
Tue Nov 19 (50 ovs)
11:00 local | 00:00 GMT
19:00 EST | 18:00 CST | 16:00 PST
The Marsh Cup
Victoria v South Australia
Fri Nov 29 - Mon Dec 2
10:30 local | 23:30 GMT
18:30 EST | 17:30 CST | 15:30 PST
Marsh Sheffield Shield
Victoria v New South Wales
Sat Dec 7 - Tue Dec 10
10:30 local | 23:30 GMT
18:30 EST | 17:30 CST | 15:30 PST
Marsh Sheffield Shield
Victoria v Western Australia
Thu Dec 26 - Mon Dec 30
11:00 local | 00:00 GMT
19:00 EST | 18:00 CST | 16:00 PST
ICC World Test Championship
2nd Test - Australia v New Zealand
2020
Sat Jan 4 (20 ovs)          
19:10 local | 08:10 GMT
03:10 EST | 02:10 CST | 00:10 PST
Big Bash League
Melbourne Stars v Melbourne Renegades
Wed Jan 8 (20 ovs)          
19:10 local | 08:10 GMT
03:10 EST | 02:10 CST | 00:10 PST
Big Bash League
Melbourne Stars v Sydney Thunder
Sun Jan 12 (20 ovs)          
19:10 local | 08:10 GMT
03:10 EST | 02:10 CST | 00:10 PST
Big Bash League
Melbourne Stars v Sydney Sixers
Sat Jan 18 (20 ovs)          
15:40 local | 04:40 GMT
23:40 EST | 22:40 CST | 20:40 PST
Big Bash League
Melbourne Stars v Perth Scorchers
Sat Jan 25 (20 ovs)          
19:10 local | 08:10 GMT
03:10 EST | 02:10 CST | 00:10 PST
Big Bash League
Melbourne Stars v Brisbane Heat
Sun Mar 8 (20 ovs)          
19:00 local | 08:00 GMT
04:00 EDT | 03:00 CDT | 00:00 PST
ICC Women's T20 World Cup
Final - TBC v TBC
Sun Oct 25 (20 ovs)          
19:00 local | 08:00 GMT
04:00 EDT | 03:00 CDT | 01:00 PDT
ICC Men's T20 World Cup
16th Match, Super 12 Group 1 - New Zealand v West Indies
Thu Oct 29 (20 ovs)          
19:00 local | 08:00 GMT
04:00 EDT | 03:00 CDT | 01:00 PDT
ICC Men's T20 World Cup
23rd Match, Super 12 Group 2 - India v TBC
Sun Nov 1 (20 ovs)          
19:00 local | 08:00 GMT
03:00 EST | 02:00 CST | 01:00 PDT
ICC Men's T20 World Cup
29th Match, Super 12 Group 2 - England v India
Fri Nov 6 (20 ovs)
14:00 local | 03:00 GMT
22:00 EST | 21:00 CST | 19:00 PST
ICC Men's T20 World Cup
37th Match, Super 12 Group 1 - Pakistan v TBC
Fri Nov 6 (20 ovs)          
19:00 local | 08:00 GMT
03:00 EST | 02:00 CST | 00:00 PST
ICC Men's T20 World Cup
38th Match, Super 12 Group 1 - Australia v New Zealand
Sat Nov 7 (20 ovs)          
19:00 local | 08:00 GMT
03:00 EST | 02:00 CST | 00:00 PST
ICC Men's T20 World Cup
40th Match, Super 12 Group 1 - West Indies v TBC
Sun Nov 15 (20 ovs)          
19:00 local | 08:00 GMT
03:00 EST | 02:00 CST | 00:00 PST
ICC Men's T20 World Cup
Final - TBC v TBC
Day and Night - Day and Night International Matches - International Matches Live - Covered by Cricinfo
No responsibility is taken by Cricinfo for the accuracy of this information.

Latest Photos

A view of the MCG on Boxing Day, Australia v India, 3rd Test, Melbourne, 1st day, December 26, 2018
A view of the MCG on Boxing Day
© CA/Cricket Australia/Getty Images
A view of the crowd at the MCG, Australia v India, 3rd Test, Melbourne, 1st day, December 26, 2018
A view of the crowd at the MCG
© CA/Cricket Australia/Getty Images
The MCG curator Matt Page works on the pitch during an Australia training session, Melbourne, December 25, 2018
The MCG curator Matt Page works on the pitch during an Australia training session
© Getty Images
A view of play from a urinal in the members' section of the MCG, December 2018

© ESPNcricinfo Ltd
 
View the full index of related photos »