Orissa v Himachal Pradesh, Ranji Trophy Plate final, 2nd day January 29, 2007

Sandeep Sharma leads Himachal's reply

Cricinfo staff

Himachal Pradesh 157 for 3 (Sharma 76) trail Orissa 317 (Behera 69, R Das 55, Bhatia 6-84) by 160 runs

Himachal Pradesh made a steady beginning in reply to Orissa's total of 317, finishing at 157 for the loss of three wickets on the second day at Cuttack. Sandeep Sharma continued his good form from the semi-finals, his 76 providing the platform for his side to attain their first target of gaining a first-innings lead.

Resuming their overnight score of 276 for 7, Orissa managed to add 41 to their overnight score. Vishal Bhatia, the left-arm spinner, wrapped up the innings to finish with figures of 6 for 84. Himachal began strongly, with the openers Monish Gupta and Sharma adding 119. However, they were pegged back by the loss of two quick wickets, with the score on 129. Sourabha Sehgal, the left-arm seamer, got the important breakthrough of Sharma trapping him in front. Orissa struck again just before the close of play when Debasis Mohanty dismissed Sangram Singh. Paras Dogra was unbeaten on 29 at stumps and was joined by Bhatia, the nightwatchman.