CAB elections

Dalmiya in running for CAB president

Cricinfo staff

July 19, 2008

Text size: A | A

Jagmohan Dalmiya is confident of returning as CAB president © AFP

Jagmohan Dalmiya, the former ICC and BCCI president, has filed his nomination for the election to the post of Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president, his first step in returning to cricket administration after his faction had lost the BCCI elections to the Sharad Pawar-led group in 2005.

Dalmiya is confident of a successful comeback to a position that he had previously held for 13 years. "We are very confident and 100% sure that our panel will win. I will talk about my plans once the results are out," Dalmiya told Cricinfo.

Dalmiya brushed aside suggestions on problems that will emerge between the BCCI and the CAB if he becomes president. "The law is in favour of the association and me ... and there will be absolutely no problem," he told reporters. "Nothing can stop me from contesting the elections."

Dalmiya was expelled from the BCCI in December 2006, and he subsequently resigned as CAB president. The expulsion prevented him from holding any post in the BCCI or its affiliates, but the Calcutta High Court stayed the decision around a year ago, allowing him to contest the CAB elections. However, the appeal was still pending in court when the elections were held last year, and Dalmiya stayed out of contention.

Dalmiya was chargesheeted for alleged embezzlement of funds during the 1996 World Cup earlier this year, but he was immediately granted bail by the Mumbai metropolitan court. The case hearing has been adjourned till December 29.

The CAB elections will, in all likelihood, see Dalmiya contest against Prasun Mukherjee, the incumbent, for the president's post. Mukherjee is expected to file his nomination on Monday.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
3rd ODI: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 28, 2014 (15:00 local | 09:30 GMT | 04:30 EST | 03:30 CST | 01:30 PST)
Quarter-final: Central Zone v South Zone at Mumbai
Nov 29, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
1st Semi-final: East Zone v North Zone at Mumbai
Nov 30, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Only T20I: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 30, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 23:30 EST | 22:30 CST | 20:30 PST)
2nd Semi-final: TBA v West Zone at Mumbai
Dec 1, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days