Quadrangular Under-19 Series

India U-19s pummel Australia U-19s in record chase

ESPNcricinfo staff

September 27, 2011

Comments: 38 | Text size: A | A

Unmukt Chand and Manan Vohra celebrate victory , India Under-19 v Australia Under-19, Quadrangular Under-19 series, Visakhapatnam, September 27, 2011
Unmukt Chand and Manan Vohra celebrate victory © ICC/Bhaskar Rao Kamana

India Under-19s decimated Australia Under-19s in the first youth ODI of the quadrangular tournament in Visakhapatnam. They won by ten wickets and 38 overs to spare in what was the fastest chase of a total more than 100 in U-19 cricket.

After choosing to bat, Australia folded for 163 in 41.1 overs. Only wicketkeeper James Peirson offered some resistance with a fluent 51. Offspinner Baba Aparajith claimed five middle-order wickets in 8.1 overs.

The India openers, Manan Vohra and Unmukt Chand, were brutal in reply, scoring 167 in 12 overs at a run-rate of 13.91. Vohra's 79 off 35 balls was studded with 15 fours and two sixes, while Chand made 72 off 40 with 11 fours and three sixes. Australia captain Cameron Bancroft employed five bowlers in the short chase, but none of them could manage an economy-rate of below 10. The opening pair was particularly harsh on spinners Ashton Turner and Shane Cassell, slamming them for 17.50 and 23 runs an over respectively.

India take on Sri Lanka U-19s in their next game on September 29, while Australia play West Indies U-19s on the same day.

Sri Lanka Under-19 began their quadrangular campaign by beating West Indies Under-19 in Visakhapatnam, a victory that was much narrower than India's against Australia. Sri Lanka edged home by two wickets and needed their tail to rescue the chase after a top-order collapse.

Chasing 147, Sri Lanka had crumbled to 71 for 8. Fast bowlers Justin Greaves, who took 4 for 26, Ronsford Beaton and Kyle Mayers had put West Indies two strikes away from victory. Those wickets, however, never came as Lahiru Madhushanka and Tharindu Kaushal added 76 runs for the ninth wicket. Madhushanka scored 42 and Kaushal 30 as Sri Lanka reached the target in the 47th over.

West Indies' top order had also failed in their innings. They were struggling at 42 for 5 before a steadying half-century from Kaven Hodge and 33 from Greaves led them to 146. Sanitha de Mel took 4 for 14 in 9.1 overs, and Gaurav Deva and Madhushanka claimed two each as West Indies were dismissed in 47.1 overs.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by Smithie on (September 29, 2011, 11:06 GMT)

If this result came on a slow, low, rolled mud, dung heap it is not much of a preparation for the U19 World Cup to be held in Queensland in Aug 2012. Lets see how these fancy openers go with a bit of CHIN MUSIC !

Posted by serious-am-i on (September 28, 2011, 20:54 GMT)

Looks like some one is trying to knock the doors of the IPL

Posted by   on (September 28, 2011, 9:34 GMT)

Baba Aparajith...! Good perfo...He is an allorunder He is batting as Opener and bowling off spin..and only 17 now he can be a good propect..All the best!

Posted by   on (September 28, 2011, 9:30 GMT)

@DineshHS Check your statement friend,Ashok Meneria sthill in the fringe players list he is ony 20,will be in the challenger trophy squad so as Mayank Agarwal.Sidharth Chitnis is a good player but he is not in having the class.It is not Dilip Chahar Deepak Chahar he performed in the Ranji Trophy not in the U19 arena. Rajasthan got Ranji trophy last year because of Deepak Chahaar and Pankaj Sing bowling Combo...Wait for more strong perfo from Chahar this season...!

Posted by KiwiRocker- on (September 28, 2011, 8:39 GMT)

Well Done U.19...but the problem is that now all these players will be made to play against quality fast bowlers of SA, Australia, England and SA and they will be sitting ducks like the most over rated batsman of all time Tendulya. It is an irrelevent news that carries no importance!

Posted by   on (September 28, 2011, 8:36 GMT)

@dineshcc and so were virat kohli, yuvraj singh and sehwag etc..where r they now?

Posted by   on (September 28, 2011, 7:38 GMT)

Great job !!! Pl carry this momentum to the future matches. Keep Indian flag flying high.

Posted by DINESHCC on (September 28, 2011, 6:59 GMT)


Posted by   on (September 28, 2011, 5:19 GMT)

@Smithie: FYI- both teams were playing on the SAME pitch.

Posted by   on (September 28, 2011, 5:09 GMT)

Congratulations ! Brave & Courageous young boys, Keep it up.Yes, We need All Rounders for the FUTURE.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
4th ODI: England v India at Birmingham
Sep 2, 2014 (10:30 local | 09:30 GMT | 05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT)
5th ODI: England v India at Leeds
Sep 5, 2014 (10:30 local | 09:30 GMT | 05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT)
Only T20I: England v India at Birmingham
Sep 7, 2014 (15:00 local | 14:00 GMT | 10:00 EDT | 09:00 CDT | 07:00 PDT)
2nd Match, Qualifying Group: Mum Indians v Lahore Lions at Raipur
Sep 13, 2014 (20:00 local | 14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
4th Match, Qualifying Group: Mum Indians v Express at Raipur
Sep 14, 2014 (20:00 local | 14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days