Vijay Hazare Trophy 2011-12 February 29, 2012

Bengal and Orissa win comfortably

ESPNcricinfo staff

East Zone

Bengal's bowlers compensated for a middle and lower-order collapse to secure a 69-run victory against Assam at Eden Gardens. Bengal were well placed at 152 for 2 after choosing to bat, but collapsed after that, losing eight wickets for 84 runs. Shreevats Goswami scored 69 and Wriddhiman Saha 72 off 60 balls but of the last seven batsmen, only Debabrata Das got into double figures. Deepak Gohain took 3 for 62 and Tarjinder Singh took 2 for 36 for Assam as Bengal were dismissed for 236 in 46.1 overs. Assam's chase never took off as wickets fell at frequent intervals to curb their momentum. The top scorer was the opener Pallavkumar Das, who made 38, and only two other batsmen got past 20 as Assam were dismissed for 167 in 42.3 overs.

Orissa's batsmen chased a testing target with five wickets and 7.3 overs to spare against Jharkhand in Kolkata. Chasing 255, Orissa's openers Paresh Patel and Tukuna Sahoo made a quick start, scoring 62 in eight overs. Patel anchored the innings with 79 and, when he fell in the 34th over, Orissa were on course. Victory was sealed by Sujit Lenka, who was 56 not out, and Bhibudutta Panda, who made 41 off 29 balls. Jharkhand used eight bowlers but only Yaju Krishanatry and Rahul Shukla took wickets. Jharkhand could have scored more than 254 for 6 but they stumbled from 75 for 0 to 117 for 4. Saurabh Tiwary steadied the innings with 57 and Kumar Deobrat scored 72. Biplab Samantray took 3 for 38 for Orissa.