South Zone v North Zone, Duleep Trophy final, 5th day October 21, 2013

Teams share trophy after final washed out

ESPNcricinfo staff

South Zone 33 for 2 drew with North Zone
Both teams share the trophy

North Zone and South Zone were declared joint winners of the 2013-14 Duleep Trophy season after the umpires inspected the wet outfield and called the game off, 15 minutes after the scheduled start on the fifth day.

The farcical climax to the tournament brought to an end a frustrating and rain-affected couple of weeks for fans and players alike in Kochi, after the first semi-final was decided by the toss of a coin, and four of the five days in the final were washed out. A reserve day was in place for Tuesday, but the officials decided not to use it as more rain is expected in Kochi.

This is the fourth instance in which the Duleep Trophy title has been shared. West Zone were previously declared joint winners with South Zone in 1963-64, North Zone in 1988-89 and Central Zone in 1997-98 seasons.