Deodhar Trophy 2014-15 November 26, 2014

Laxmi Shukla withdraws from Deodhar Trophy squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

Laxmi Shukla has pulled out of the East Zone squad for the Prof DB Deodhar Trophy. The Bengal captain informed zonal selectors that he needs time to recover from the ankle injury he suffered during the recent Vijay Hazare Trophy, in which he led Bengal to the semi-finals.

The East Zone selectors are yet to name a replacement for Shukla but the squad will be led by his Bengal team-mate Manoj Tiwary. The squad features four players from Bengal, six from Jharkhand and two each from Assam and Odisha.

East Zone will play their first game of the tournament in Mumbai, in the first semi-final against North Zone on November 30.

East Zone squad: Manoj Tiwary (captain), Ashok Dinda, Saurasish Lahiri, Shreevats Goswami, Virat Singh, Saurabh Tiwary, Kumar Deobrat, Rahul Shukla, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ishank Jaggi, Parvez Aziz, Pritam Das, Deepak Behera and Arvind Singh.