November 5, 2000

Tripura fail to romp home inspite of Debnath's heroics

The East Zone Cooch Behar Trophy match between Tripura and Orissa at the Polytechnic Institute Ground in Agartala ended in a draw with Tripura taking 5 points due to a massive 130 run lead while Orissa had to be content with three.

It was always a tough asking to score 250 runs for a win on the final day and Orissa managed to scratch 207 runs while losing nine wickets in the bargain. S Biswal (85) was the chief contributor, sharing a 220 ball, 100 run partnership for the fourth wicket with N Behara (62). J Debnath (3 for 69) and T Saha (3 for 34) were the successful bowlers for Tripura.

In the morning, Tripura who resumed at 101 for 8 in their second innings, were all out for 119. Rasudeb Dutta (47), who waged a lone battle for over 173 minutes, was the top scorer for Tripura. SK Jahangir (4 for 45) reaped a rich harvest for Orissa.

On the opening day, Tripura who opted to bat put up a fighting 240 on the board. Tripura were chiefly helped by many small but useful partnerships along the way. The topscorer being Sandip Bannerjee with a well compiled 47 off 114 balls. In reply Orissa had to confront the medium pacers of J Debnath (7 for 37) and finding him too hard to handle were bundled out for just 110 runs.