Indian Premier League

Winner - Chennai Super Kings

R Ashwin took out Chris Gayle for a duck and all but sealed Chennai's second consecutive IPL title
R Ashwin took out Chris Gayle for a duck and all but sealed Chennai's second consecutive IPL title © AFP


South Africa's fringe talent spurned

Despite coming with lofty credentials, and sacrificing opportunities back home, Colin Ingram and Co. did not get a fair chance to make an impact in the IPL. By Firdose Moonda

    Can the IPL exist peacefully in the international schedule?

Time Out: Harsha Bhogle, Sanjay Manjrekar and Tony Greig discuss whether a balance can be struck. Plus, we speak to Paul Valthaty

    A tale of three legspinners

Aakash Chopra: Piyush Chawla, Amit Mishra and Rahul Sharma can succeed for India, but their actions still need work

    Moving season for the IPL

This year's event has highlighted flaws in the system, and raises the question: has a tipping point been reached? By Sharda Ugra

    Too drained to care

The Long Room: It's tough to support your side to a World Cup win and, within a week, start cheering as they play for different teams in a Twenty20 league. By Abhishek Purohit

    Video/Audio »   Magazine »    Page 2 »

Points Table

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts Net RR
RCB 14 9 4 0 1 19 +0.326
Super Kings 14 9 5 0 0 18 +0.443
Mum Indians 14 9 5 0 0 18 +0.040
KKR 14 8 6 0 0 16 +0.433
Kings XI 14 7 7 0 0 14 -0.051
Royals 14 6 7 0 1 13 -0.691
Chargers 14 6 8 0 0 12 +0.222
Kochi 14 6 8 0 0 12 -0.214
Warriors 14 4 9 0 1 9 -0.134
Daredevils 14 4 9 0 1 9 -0.448

* Two finalists, and loser of the Qualifier 2 (Played on Fri May 27) will qualify for the Champions League Twenty20

Fantasy Cricket

Do not have a team yet? Create a team now

Scores UpdateScores Updated for:

5th ODI : England v India , Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

Top 3 playersTop 3 players

Player Team Cost Total Points
V Kohli IND 90000 173
JM Bairstow ENG 85000 159
GP Swann ENG 100000 135

Boundary Meter

Quote Unquote

IPL overkill brings down the best of them, even Ravi Shastri

Chennai's players douse each other after the presentation
© Associated Press
Chennai pose with their second IPL trophy
Chennai celebrate their second IPL title
© Associated Press
Saurabh Tiwary loses his bat
© Associated Press
Dwayne Bravo's spectacular attempt to catch the ball is in vain
Shadab Jakati had AB de Villiers lbw


IPL 2011 - Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is an annual franchise-based Twenty20 competition organised by the Indian board. First held in 2008, it features many of the world's best cricketers playing for eight city-based franchises, owned by a host of businessmen and celebrity consortiums. The tournament's initial success stemmed from India's winning the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 but the IPL has itself spawned several competitions, current and planned, including the Champions League.


Kumar Sangakkara (c/wk) Anand Rajan
Ankit Sharma Ashish Reddy
Akash Bhandari Bharat Chipli
Daniel Christian Kedar Devdhar
Shikhar Dhawan Jean-Paul Duminy
Manpreet Gony Harmeet Singh
Ishank Jaggi Michael Lumb
Chris Lynn Ishan Malhotra
Amit Mishra Pragyan Ojha
Kevin Pietersen Dwaraka Ravi Teja
Jaydev Shah Ishant Sharma
Sunny Sohal Dale Steyn
Rusty Theron Cameron White
Arjun Yadav
Tournament Results
Super Kings v RCB at Chennai - May 28, 2011
Super Kings won by 58 runs
RCB v Mum Indians at Chennai - May 27, 2011
RCB won by 43 runs
KKR v Mum Indians at Mumbai - May 25, 2011
Mum Indians won by 4 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)
RCB v Super Kings at Mumbai - May 24, 2011
Super Kings won by 6 wickets (with 2 balls remaining)
KKR v Mum Indians at Kolkata - May 22, 2011
Mum Indians won by 5 wickets (with 0 balls remaining)
RCB v Super Kings at Bangalore - May 22, 2011
RCB won by 8 wickets (with 12 balls remaining)
More results »
44 The number of sixes hit by Chris Gayle in IPL 2011, the most by any batsman. MS Dhoni is next with 23 sixes
. 13
Gayle's strike rate which is the highest among all batsmen with 200 runs or more in IPL 2011
. 22
The highest strike rate for a fifty-plus score, by Jesse Ryder in his 60 against Delhi
. 70
R Ashwin's average against left handers in IPL 2011. He has picked up 10 wickets for 127 runs at an economy rate of 5.60
. 23
The lowest economy rate for a team, held by Pune
159 The highest partnership for the opening wicket across all seasons, between M Vijay and Michael Hussey against Bangalore
8 The number of matches won by Chennai batting first, the most by any team in IPL 2011
10 The highest number of catches held by a fielder in IPL 2011, by Kieron Pollard.
193 The highest target successfully chased by a team in IPL 2011, by Punjab against Chennai
455 The most runs conceded by a bowler in IPL 2011, by Zaheer Khan. Ashwin is next, having conceded 388 runs
2 The number of player-of-the-match awards won by players from the losing side in IPL 2011. Rahul Sharma and Yuvraj Singh are the only two to achieve this
. 87
The run-rate during the 206-run stand between Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh, the highest for a century stand in IPL 2011