Indian Premier League

Winner - Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders celebrate their maiden IPL title after beating Chennai Super Kings in a tense last-over finish
Kolkata Knight Riders celebrate their maiden IPL title after beating Chennai Super Kings in a tense last-over finish © AFP


    'IPL needs more professional governance'

Time Out: Harsha Bhogle, Aakash Chopra and Sharda Ugra on the lessons from the league's fifth season

Behind the scenes at the Knight Riders

Andrew Leipus: After four years of hard work and heartbreak, those who toiled for Kolkata's franchise can finally celebrate

    Don't blame IPL for all that's wrong

Sanjay Manjrekar: Sleaze in cricket? There was plenty of it before the league came along

    'Playing cricket in India is always incredible'

Azhar Mahmood talks about the packed houses, bowling to Gayle, and more about his maiden IPL experience

    The case for an IPL window

David Hopps: It's not impossible to set aside seven weeks a year for it; the global game would benefit

    Video/Audio »   Magazine »    Page 2 »

Points Table

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts Net RR
Daredevils 16 11 5 0 0 22 +0.617
KKR 16 10 5 0 1 21 +0.561
Mum Indians 16 10 6 0 0 20 -0.100
Super Kings 16 8 7 0 1 17 +0.100
RCB 16 8 7 0 1 17 -0.022
Kings XI 16 8 8 0 0 16 -0.216
Royals 16 7 9 0 0 14 +0.201
Chargers 16 4 11 0 1 9 -0.509
Warriors 16 4 12 0 0 8 -0.551

Boundary Meter

Knight Riders parade the IPL trophy around Eden Gardens
© Associated Press
Kolkata Knight Riders with Bengal chief minister, Mamata Banerjee
Knight Riders are greeted by fans in Kolkata
© Hindustan Times
Kolkata Knight Riders with their first IPL trophy
Sunil Narine, the Player of the Tournament, is carried by his team-mates
MS Dhoni shakes hands with Gautam Gambhir


MS Dhoni (c/wk) Srikkanth Anirudha
Ravichandran Ashwin S Badrinath
George Bailey Doug Bollinger
Dwayne Bravo Faf du Plessis
Ben Hilfenhaus Michael Hussey
Ravindra Jadeja Shadab Jakati
Joginder Sharma Suraj Randiv
Nuwan Kulasekara Yo Mahesh
Albie Morkel Abhinav Mukund
Suresh Raina Wriddhiman Saha (wk)
Scott Styris Sudeep Tyagi
Kuthethurshri Vasudevadas Ganapathi Vignesh
Murali Vijay
Tournament Results
KKR v Super Kings at Chennai - May 27, 2012
KKR won by 5 wickets (with 2 balls remaining)
Daredevils v Super Kings at Chennai - May 25, 2012
Super Kings won by 86 runs
Super Kings v Mum Indians at Bangalore - May 23, 2012
Super Kings won by 38 runs
Daredevils v KKR at Pune - May 22, 2012
KKR won by 18 runs
Royals v Mum Indians at Jaipur - May 20, 2012
Mum Indians won by 10 wickets (with 12 balls remaining)
Chargers v RCB at Hyderabad (Deccan) - May 20, 2012
Chargers won by 9 runs
More results »
1722 The number of balls faced by Jacques Kallis in the IPL, the most by a batsman across the five seasons. Sachin Tendulkar is second, having faced 1717 balls.
4 The number of players to score over 200 runs and pick up 15 or more wickets in a single tournament. Kieron Pollard is the only player to achieve the feat twice.
11 The number of times Rajasthan Royals and Deccan Chargers have been bowled out, the most number of times a team has been bowled out in the IPL
6 The number of fifty-plus stands between Rahul Dravid and Ajinkya Rahane, the highest for a pair in a single season of the IPL
43 The most number of tosses won by a team, by Deccan Chargers. Delhi Daredevils are next, having won 41 tosses
9 The most fifty-plus scores for a player in defeats, for Jacques Kallis. Shikhar Dhawan is second, with seven fifty-plus scores.
158 The highest number of runs in boundaries hit by a team chasing, by Rajasthan Royals in the match against Chennai Super Kings in 2010.
19 The number of wickets taken by Lasith Malinga against Deccan Chargers and Amit Mishra against Rajasthan Royals, the most by a bowler against a particular opposition
16 The number of bowled dismissals for Lasith Malinga in IPL 2011, the most for a bowler in a single IPL season
17 The highest number of sixes hit in a single innings in an IPL game, by Chennai Super Kings against Rajasthan Royals in 2010
31 The number of wickets taken by Albie Morkel in Chennai, the most by a pace bowler at a particular venue.
326 The number of sixes hit in Chennai, the highest at a particular venue. Bangalore is next on the list, with 322 sixes.