Indian Premier League October 23, 2008

I suggested Jennings for Bangalore coach - Crowe

Cricinfo staff

Martin Crowe (middle) said he was the first to approach Ray Jennings directly © Bangalore Royal Challengers

Martin Crowe, the former New Zealand captain, has indicated that his departure from the Bangalore Royal Challengers was by mutual consent, and that he had recommended Ray Jennings' name for the coach's job.

Crowe, formerly Bangalore's chief cricket officer, said he was "pleased" at the appointment of Jennings, the former South African coach.

"It was I who first suggested Ray Jennings for the role and it was I who first approached Jennings directly," Crowe told Cricinfo. "I'm pleased both parties have agreed to his appointment."

A release from the franchise said: "Crowe, a legend of cricket, was brought in as chief cricket officer to assist the CEO and captain of the Royal Challengers in setting up the franchise from the game's perspective. Having accomplished this in the maiden year, a joint review was conducted to assess what is required to achieve the goals that the franchise had set for itself ... It was mutually felt that the franchise needed a structural change in the management."

Crowe's departure is the latest disclosure in a series of management changes effected by various IPL teams leading up to the one-month trading window for players that starts on December 15. Bangalore had already replaced Charu Sharma, their chief executive, with Brijesh Patel, the former Indian batsman and secretary of the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA), during the first season. The team struggled to produce positive results and finished seventh out of eight.

Hyderabad's Deccan Chargers, who finished last on the points table, have replaced VVS Laxman, their captain, with Adam Gilchrist, the retired Australian wicketkeeper. They also confirmed the appointment of Tim Wright, the former IMG official, as their new chief executive. The Jaipur and Delhi franchises have also removed their chief executives, despite their success in the first season - Jaipur's Rajasthan Royals were the champions while the Delhi Daredevils reached the semi-finals.