Kenya news May 29, 2012

Cricket Kenya announces contracts for 2012-13

ESPNcricinfo staff

Cricket Kenya has announced its list of contracted players for 2012-13. The 20 players named in the list have agreed to the contracts, unlike last year when five players turned them down on grounds of insufficient compensation.

Cricket Kenya's chief executive Tom Sears said: "Cricket Kenya is delighted to announce that 20 players have agreed National contracts. We have great faith in the players selected, they are a young squad and will need time to reach their full potential, but they have an enormous amount of ability and given time there is no reason why this squad can't start producing the results we all hope to see.

"The process of renewing the contracts has been extremely simple this year which has been refreshing, I would commend the players for choosing to represent themselves as opposed to be influenced by third parties, and on the way they have conducted themselves throughout the process. All discussions have been very open and constructive which bodes well for the future."

Contracts list: Ragheb Aga, Duncan Allan, James Ngoche, Shem Ngoche, Alex Obanda, Collins Obuya, Nehemiah Odhiambo, Nelson Odhiambo, Irfan Karim, Ibrahim Akello, Alfred Luseno, Peter Kituku, Dominic Wesonga, Morris Ouma, Lucas Oluoch, Elijah Otieno, Rakep Patel, Hiren Varaiya, Seren Waters, Emmanuel Bundi.