Ranji Trophy 2014-15, Group A, 3rd day January 15, 2015

Spinners fire Tamil Nadu to innings win

ESPNcricinfo staff

Malolan Rangarajan wrecked Uttar Pradesh with figures of 5 for 42 © ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Tamil Nadu 400 (Abhinav 140, Indrajith 91, Murtaza 4-138) beat Uttar Pradesh 182 (Rahil 5-63) and 169 (Chawla 69, Malolan 5-42, Suresh 4-38) by an innings and 49 runs

Tamil Nadu's spinners Suresh Kumar and Malolan Rangarajan picked up nine wickets between them to bowl Uttar Pradesh out for 169 and seal an innings and 49-run win in Chennai, the hosts' second victory of the season. Beginning on an overnight score of 360, Tamil Nadu were guided by a 76-run partnership for the eighth wicket between Baba Indrajith and Malolan (36). Indrajith stroked nine fours, but fell nine runs short of a century, as Amit Mishra quickly cleaned up the tail to dismiss Tamil Nadu for 400.

With a 218-run lead in hand, Tamil Nadu further enforced their advantage as Suresh wrecked UP's top order to leave the visitors rattling at 62 for 6. A 54-run association between Piyush Chawla (69) and Eklavya Dwivedi briefly stopped the slide, but once Suresh dismissed Dwivedi, Malolan wiped out the remaining batsmen to fetch returns of 5 for 42, as UP folded in 57.1 overs.

Bengal 216 for 3 (Easwaran 63, Das 60, Tiwary 52) and 387 lead Jammu & Kashmir 315 (Bandeep 73, Ian Dev 72, Dinda 3-102) by 288 runs

Manoj Tiwary picked up two wickets and hit an unbeaten half-century, as Bengal claimed a first-innings lead against Jammu & Kashmir in Kolkata. J&K began the day at 183 for 5, but were dealt an early blow as Shubham Pundir was dismissed off the second ball of the day. A 90-run stand between Bandeep Singh (73) and Ram Dayal (62) threatened Bengal, but once Tiwary got rid of Bandeep, the visitors soon folded for 315. It meant Bengal had a 72-run lead, and the hosts made further inroads through a 126-run opening partnership between Abhimanyu Easwaran (63) and Arindam Das (60). J&K fought back with three quick wickets, but Tiwary's 37-ball 52 took Bengal to 216 for 3 at stumps.

Railways 251 for 7 (Bhosale 76, Rawat 50, Irfan 2-49) trail Baroda 298 by 47 runs

Fifties from Rohan Bhosale and Mahesh Rawat led Railways' reply against Baroda in Delhi, but their dismissals in the space of an over hurt the team's quest for securing first-innings points. After the majority of day two was washed out due to rain, Railways rode on a 77-run partnership for the third wicket between Bhosale and Arindam Ghosh which helped them recover from a shaky start. Railways then lost two more quick wickets, but Bhosale (76) and Rawat (50)'s 83-run association took Railways to within 100 runs of Baroda's first-innings total. However, both batsmen fell in the space of eight deliveries, meaning that Railways were precariously placed at 251 for 7 when stumps were called, still trailing by 47 runs. Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan and Swapnil Singh snared two scalps apiece for Baroda.

Karnataka 516 for 8 (Manish 193, Shreyas 124, Rawat 3-91) lead Madhya Pradesh 303 by 213 runs

An epic 192-run stand between Manish Pandey and Shreyas Gopal powered Karnataka to a massive lead against Madhya Pradesh in Indore. Karnataka, starting at 214 for 3, lost two early wickets in the day, but Manish and Shreyas batted together for 48 overs, ensuring that the visitors ended the day at 516 for 8, with a lead of 213. Manish struck 15 fours and a six during his 351-ball knock, but missed out on a double-century as he was caught behind by Naman Ojha off Yogesh Rawat for 193. Shreyas carried on to make 124, with 13 fours, but just like Manish, he was also caught behind off Rawat's bowling towards the end of the day.