South Africa v Australia, 2nd ODI, Cape Town March 3, 2006

Ponting and Symonds miss second ODI

Cricinfo staff

Ricky Ponting faces an annoying wait © Getty Images
Australia have confirmed that Ricky Ponting and Andrew Symonds will miss the second one-day international against South Africa at Cape Town on Friday. Ponting is still struggling with the stomach muscle injury he picked up before the first match, and there is some doubt as to whether he will take any part in the series. Symonds's hip-flexor problem is improving but he won't be rushed back into action.

Both players took part in a net session during the afternoon training at Newlands and Errol Alcott, Australia's physiotherapist, said they needed extra time to make sure they are fully fit. "Although Ricky was unhampered by his injury in batting and fielding today, we consider it more prudent to rest him tomorrow considering the length of time since the injury," he said. "We will continue further treatment and cricket activity, and will review his availability for Sunday's game."

Symonds had a batting session and Alcott was pleased with his progress. He will continue to receive treatment and be monitored ahead of the third match at Port Elizabeth.

South Africa, who lead the series 1-0 following their six-wicket win in the opening match at Centurion Park, will pick from the same squad after Shaun Pollock was passed fit for the rest of the contest. "It's big for us," Ponting told AAP. "It's only a five-match series so if you can manage to get 2-0 up it puts a lot of pressure on a touring team especially if there are injuries." Their pace attack is returning to full strength and they may consider bolstering it further by replacing Robin Peterson, who was ineffective at Centurion, with Johan van der Wath.

South Africa (probable) Graeme Smith (capt), Boeta Dippenaar, Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Mark Boucher (wk), Justin Kemp, Shaun Pollock, Johan van der Wath, Andrew Hall, Makhaya Ntini, Andre Nel.

Australia (probable) Adam Gilchrist (capt, wk), Simon Katich, Damien Martyn, Michael Clarke, Michael Hussey, Shane Watson, Brad Hogg, Brett Lee, Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Mick Lewis.