Sri Lanka v New Zealand, tri-series, 4th ODI, Dambulla

Heavy rains wash match out, reserve day to be used

The Bulletin by Sidharth Monga

August 19, 2010

Text size: A | A

Persistent rains ensured the covers stayed on into the evening, Sri Lanka v New Zealand, tri-series, 4th ODI, Dambulla, August 19, 2010
Persistent rains ensured that there was no action on Thursday. The match will be replayed on the reserve day. © Cameraworx/Live Images
Related Links

Match abandoned without a ball being bowled after New Zealand chose to bat v Sri Lanka

The fourth match of the tri-series, between New Zealand and Sri Lanka, became the first-ever ODI in Dambulla to be abandoned because of rain. It wasn't abandoned in the true sense of the word: there was a reserve day assigned for every match of the tournament, and both teams were to have the toss again on Friday. Heavy rain hit Dambulla soon after New Zealand won the toss today and elected to bat.

This game was supposed to restore the focus on on-field action after the last three days were dominated by the the Suraj Randiv no-ball, allegations, inquiries, and suspensions. As a result, Randiv, who bowled the no-ball to deny Virender Sehwag a century in the previous game, was suspended for this ODI, and the washed-out day's play won't count as time served for him.

Apart from Rangana Herath replacing Randiv, Sri Lanka had brought in an extra spinner in Ajantha Mendis ahead of Dilhara Fernando, and also got the younger Chamara Silva to replace Thilan Samaraweera. They continued showing faith in Chamara Kapugedera.

New Zealand welcomed back Jacob Oram and Grant Elliot, but had to do without Martin Guptill who injured himself in the lead-up to the match. Peter Ingram took his place. On Friday, though, both teams will be allowed to name fresh XIs.

Sri Lanka: 1 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 2 Upul Tharanga, 3 Kumar Sangakkara (capt & wk), 4 Mahela Jayawardene, 5 Angelo Mathews, 6 Chamara Silva, 7 Chamara Kapugedera, 8 Nuwan Kulasekara, 9 Rangana Herath, 10 Ajantha Mendis, 11 Lasith Malinga.

New Zealand: 1 Peter Ingram, 2 BJ Watling, 3 Ross Taylor (capt.), 4 Kane Williamson, 5 Scott Styris, 6 Jacob Oram, 7 Grant Elliot, 8 Gareth Hopkins (wk), 9 Nathan McCullum, 10 Kyle Mills, 11 Daryl Tuffey

Sidharth Monga is an assistant editor at Cricinfo

RSS Feeds: Sidharth Monga

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Sidharth MongaClose
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days