Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, 2nd T20I, Colombo April 5, 2017

Bangladesh look to give Mashrafe victorious send-off


Match Facts

Thursday, April 6, 2017
Start time 1900 local (1330 GMT)

Mashrafe Mortaza will play his final T20I on Thursday © Associated Press

Big picture

The second T20 international against Sri Lanka will be Mashrafe Mortaza's last, and Bangladesh will be keen to farewell their captain with a victory. If Bangladesh come back from Tuesday's thrashing and win, the T20I series will end in a draw, like the ODI and Test series did.

Sri Lanka, who were clinical in the first game, will look to stretch Bangladesh's losing streak in T20Is to nine.

It was the returning Kusal Perera who led Sri Lanka's charge in the first match with a 53-ball 77. He found little support from the other end, but that did not stop Sri Lanka from acing a chase of 156. Lasith Malinga, predictably, was Sri Lanka's most effective bowler with two wickets. Vikum Sanjaya's swing, Asela Gunaratne's dibbly-dobblers, and Seekugge Prasanna's accurate legspin ably complemented Malinga.

Mosaddek Hossain and Mahmudullah played cameos to rescue Bangladesh's innings, but the side will need more from the top order, especially Soumya Sarkar who has a tendency to throw away starts.

To give Mashrafe the perfect send-off in this format, Bangladesh will have to improve their fielding, and they also must find a way to absorb pressure. That is how they won at the P Sara Test and Dambulla ODI.

Form guide

Sri Lanka WLWWW (completed matches, most recent first)
Bangladesh LLLLL

In the spotlight

Kusal Perera's renewed vigour enabled him to make a match-winning half-century in the first game, and now will look to blend that vigour with consistency.

All eyes will be on Mashrafe Mortaza, who had announced his retirement from T20Is at the toss in the previous game. Will it turn out to be a happy ending for Mashrafe?

Team news

Sri Lanka are likely to retain their winning combination from the first T20I.

Sri Lanka (possible): 1 Upul Tharanga (capt), 2 Kusal Perera (wk), 3 Dilshan Munaweera, 4 Chamara Kapugedara, 5 Asela Gunaratne, 6 Seekkuge Prasanna, 7 Milinda Siriwardana, 8 Thisara Perera, 9 Nuwan Kulasekara, 10 Lasith Malinga, 11 Vikum Sanjaya

Bangladesh, on the other hand, might consider replacing Taskin Ahmed with offspinning allrounder Mehedi Hasan, who is uncapped in T20Is.

Bangladesh (possible): 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Sabbir Rahman, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mosaddek Hossain, 7 Mahmudullah, 8 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt.), 9 Mohammad Saifuddin, 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Taskin Ahmed/Mehedi Hasan

Pitch and conditions

The second T20I will be played on the same pitch that was used for the first one. It is expected to be good for batting, but is likely to assist the spinners as the game wears on. Showers have been forecast for the day but the chance of rain in the evening is small.

Stats and trivia

  • Mashrafe Mortaza will finish his T20I career as Bangladesh's highest wicket-taker among fast bowlers.

  • Bangladesh have now lost eight T20Is in a row, their second-worst run in the format

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • oni08j6359492 on April 6, 2017, 17:31 GMT

    Congratulations tigers. Wonderful farewell to tiger skipper. Mash r the best. We wanna see u world champion in future . Best wishes for u.

  •   Mahtabul Hakim on April 6, 2017, 16:36 GMT

    SPIN_BULLY, Bangladesh is trying hard to make an impression. Surely its not easy. Long way to go for achieving better Test results and a lot to learn on T20. Even our one day performance is not always consistent, despite some successes over last two years. It was never an easy journey. And off-field stress created by fans of other countries is hurting. You know what, even our successes get bullied, isnt it odd? See your last comment, if you cant understand.

  • raja on April 6, 2017, 15:56 GMT

    Only winning hearts not enough. @Opel, so called your strongest team in 16 years, what did it achieve? A win against a team which is rebuilding. Whose selectors do not have a clue about what is going on. And players who lack proper guidance from seniors. Of course, it is internal problem. Nothing to do with BD. But you guys boasting like world champions. Anyway, cricket has to be played in cricket ground, not here. I remember a comment 'BD need one win to talk for 20 years', I presume, you achieved that already. Congratulations.

  • hasith9884342 on April 6, 2017, 15:45 GMT

    Please replace this roshan guy from comentry. Im a srilankb, but this guy is disgracing the cricket aa a

  • Herath on April 6, 2017, 13:27 GMT

    ROSHBUWA, yes that's true, the 2 Asia cups that I have mentioned (during the 1st 17 years after gaining test status-1982 to 1999) includes the 1986 and the 1997 Asia cups. I only highlighted the 1986 Asia cup to indicate how soon SL won a trophy after gaining test status.

  •   cricfan12079770 on April 6, 2017, 13:23 GMT

    Next T20 captaincy should given to Mahmudullah Riyad. U have seen him in BPL, right?

  • Tareq on April 6, 2017, 13:23 GMT

    Good decision to drop Tamim and Taskin. We should drop Mushi as well. Today the team is better than yesterday. When Mash will retire Rubel will get the chance. Better for Bangladesh.

  • Tareq on April 6, 2017, 13:22 GMT

    Spin_Bully ..Mr Spin said this is second string SL team. Which one is SL first team..Ranatunga, Jaysuriya, DE Silva, Murali, Jaywardane, Sangakara..buddy they are all retired. and this is the current SL team..if you would like to tag them as second string be it. Pl. don't twist this anymore. Now, SL winning and Bangladesh losing to second string team. if Bangladesh win they win against second string team. You guys really funny. Stop this nonsense.

  • wearea1129169 on April 6, 2017, 13:20 GMT

    How come regular opener blaster Tamim left out just because of the last game & Imrul replaced him in this last T20. I hope Imrul can utilize without killing too many balls

  • ronron4674474 on April 6, 2017, 13:19 GMT

    The result of this match is quite obvious.BD 2000/no wickets.SL 15 all out.Why bs BD is the greatest team in the history of cricket.Tigers are winners!They have never lost and will never loose.They are invincible. (The above is the best joke of 2017) (

  • No featured comments at the moment.