Sri Lanka news May 19, 2010

Maharoof, Udana and Udawatte in Sri Lanka A team for Australia

Three senior team discards - allrounder Farveez Maharoof, fast bowler Isuru Udana and opening batsman Mahela Udawatte - have won a place in the Sri Lanka A team's one-month tour of Australia from June 10.

All three players have been picked for the one-day squad which will play three matches against Australia A. Maharoof has been out of the senior national team since playing an ODI against India in February 2009, while Udana's only international appearance was in the second edition of the World Twenty20 in England. Udawatte had a brief run with the limited-overs side, but has been out of favour since September. Middle-order batsman Chamara Kapugedera will captain the one-day side.

The selectors picked two different squads for the tour, one to play in the two four-day 'Tests' and one 3-day warm-up game against the Australian Institute of Sports (AIS) and the other for the one-day matches. Thilina Kandamby who led Basnahira North to the final of the 4-day inter-provincial tournament will captain Sri Lanka 'A' in the longer format.

The visitors will also play a Twenty20 match against Australia A for which a separate team has not been picked, but will most probably comprise of players from the one-day squad.

'Test' squad: Thilina Kandamby (capt), Dimuth Karunaratne, Tharanga Paranavitana, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Kaushal Silva, Jeevan Mendis, Kosala Kulasekara, Nuwan Pradeep, Dinesh Dharshanapriya, Dammika Prasad, Chaminda Vidanapathirana, Sachitra Senanayake, Seekuge Prasanna and Nadeera Nawala.

One-day squad: Chamara Kapugedera (capt), Thilina Kandamby, Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Jeevan Mendis, Kosala Kulasekara, Nuwan Pradeep, Dinesh Dharshanapriya, Sachitra Senanayake, Seekuge Prasanna, Dilshan Munaweera, Isuru Udana, Farveez Maharoof and Mahela Udawatte.