Vijay Hazare Trophy 2012-13, East Zone matches February 22, 2013

Odisha, Bengal fashion huge wins

ESPNcricinfo staff

East Zone group leaders Assam had a dismal match, losing by seven wickets to Bengal in Kolkata. Assam were dismissed for 93 after being asked to bat, with only four batsmen reaching a score in double figures.

Fast bowler Veer Pratap Singh's four-wicket effort was well supported by Shami Ahmed, the captain Laxmi Ratan Shukla and medium-pacer Sanjib Sanyal.

Bengal had a brief stutter in their chase when Wriddhiman Saha and Vivek Singh were dismissed off consecutive balls. However, Assam's bowlers simply did not have enough runs to defend. A fluent and unbeaten knock of 61 from Manoj Tiwary, which included eight fours and two sixes, hastened the finish, giving Bengal a comfortable win.

In the second East Zone match in Kolkata, Odisha scored a 235-run win against Jharkhand, courtesy centuries by Paresh Patel and Arabind Singh and a seven-wicket haul by Suryakant Pradhan. Jharkhand won the toss and picked up an early wicket in the fifth over. But they had to wait for 214 more runs for the next strike, that of debutant Arabind, who smashed a 112-ball 132. Biplab Samantray then scored a 13-ball 37 to help Odisha to a tall total of 353.

Left-arm seamer Pradhan triggered a Jharkhand collapse after picking up a wicket in his second over. He picked up a wicket in every over till his seventh as Jharkhand were left tottering on 43 for 8. Some late hitting by the ninth-wicket pair of Rahul Shukla (50 off 55 balls) and Jaskaran Singh delayed the inevitable and helped the team cross the 100-mark. They were eventually bowled out for 118 in the 29th over of the innings.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Aditya on February 23, 2013, 17:46 GMT

    Exactly what Bruisers said. If I remember correctly, until last year, the five top placed teams and the best second placed teams went directly to the quarters. The remaining second placed teams fought it out for the 2 remaining QF spots in the pre-QFs. Please correct me if I am wrong. If it is indeed true that K'taka - who have won all 5 matches - along with MP and Assam (group toppers) have to play in the pre-QFs, it is beyond ridiculous. As usual I can see that Mumbai get the sweet deal even while finishing second. Cricinfo, can you please clear this up?

  • Deepak on February 23, 2013, 12:58 GMT

    Karnataka, M.Pradesh and Assam have to play pre-quarterfinals despite topping the group tables while others get a free ticket to the last eight. What rubbish!

  • Riyan on February 22, 2013, 11:41 GMT

    This shows the importance of big names like Manoj Tiwary to their first class teams.. Imagine if all the Indian players would play for their first class teams, the competition would be intense. Also, I think it's high time Manoj Tiwary gets another national call-up. He has shown his worth in the longer format (129 vs Australians) and now if can get a good consistent run in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, he deserves another national call-up.

  • No featured comments at the moment.