Vijay Hazare Trophy 2010-11, 6th match day

Badrinath, Sathish secure Tamil Nadu win

ESPNcricinfo staff

February 15, 2011

Text size: A | A

South Zone

Tamil Nadu saw off a spirited fightback by Andhra's lower order to complete a 24-run win at the Perintalmanna Cricket Stadium in Malappuram. S Badrinath's 99 and R Sathish's 76 had helped Tamil Nadu reach 300, and the seamers then took early wickets, reducing Andhra to 116 for 6. Vemu Lenin, who made 65 not out, and Andhra's tail made a fight of it, but Tamil Nadu always looked in control. Badrinath and Sathish had taken the game away from Andhra with their sixth-wicket partnership of 129 off 90 balls. Sathish' 76 came off just 53 balls. Seamer Sunil Sam did the early damage for Tamil Nadu, taking three wickets, before the lower order battled. Andhra were finally bowled out for 276 in the final over.

Goa's spinners were all over Hyderabad at the Fort Maidan in Palakkad, leading their team to a seven-wicket win. Amit Yadav, Shadab Jakati, Dhiraj Narvekar and Sher Yadav took eight wickets between them - the other two were run-outs - as Hyderabad were bowled out for 158. After a solid start, Hyderabad collapsed from 54 for 0, with Amit Yadav the most successful of the spinners, taking 3 for 22. Goa lost some early wickets in their chase, but Rohit Asnodkar made sure there were no further hiccups, scoring and unbeaten74 off 85 balls, as his team eased home in 39.5 overs.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Gujarat v Jharkhand at Indore - Mar 1, 2011
Jharkhand won by 159 runs
Gujarat v Haryana at Indore - Feb 27, 2011
Gujarat won by 7 wickets (with 66 balls remaining)
Jharkhand v Vidarbha at Indore - Feb 27, 2011
Jharkhand won by 5 wickets (with 28 balls remaining)
Bengal v Gujarat at Indore - Feb 25, 2011
Gujarat won by 114 runs
Tamil Nadu v Vidarbha at Indore - Feb 25, 2011
Vidarbha won by 4 wickets (with 9 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days