England in West Indies 2013-14

WI persist with World T20 squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

March 6, 2014

Comments: 40 | Text size: A | A

Kieron Pollard drives powerfully, West Indies v Pakistan, 1st T20I, St Vincent, July 27, 2013
Kieron Pollard has been left out as he is still recovering from a knee injury © WICB Media
Related Links

West Indies will play the three-match Twenty20 series against England with the same squad they had named for the upcoming World T20 in Bangladesh, as they look to get some practice ahead of defending the title they won in 2012.

Darren Sammy will lead an experienced side that includes the likes of Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Ravi Rampaul and Denesh Ramdin.

The team will be without Kieron Pollard, who is still recovering from a knee injury sustained from playing a charity football match. Fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell, who was a surprise inclusion in the World T20 squad, could receive his first limited-overs cap before West Indies make the trip to Bangladesh. There was once again no place in the team for Tino Best, who hasn't made an international appearance since January.

West Indies' T20 form has been poor lately, having lost five of their last six matches, including a six-wicket capitulation to Ireland in Kingston last month. They play the first of three matches in Barbados, on Sunday.

West Indies squad: Darren Sammy (capt), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (March 8, 2014, 16:01 GMT)

Test should be Gayle ,Powell , sarwan(C), Chanderpaul ,samuels, Darren Bravo ,Ramdin(wk) (Vc) S Naraine , N Millar , Rampaul , K roach , J Taylor (12th)

New 13th should be Johnathan Carter , 14th N Pooran

ODI should have Gayle , Smith , Sarwan (C) , Darren Bravo , Simmons , Samuels , Ramdin(wk), (VC) Dwayne Bravo , Rampaul , Naraine , MIllar

12th - Sammy

t20 should be Gayle , Smith , Simmons , Samuels , Polard , Dwayne Bravo(C) , Charles wk , Sammy , S badree , Naraine , K Santokie

12th - A Russell / C barnwell

Posted by   on (March 8, 2014, 6:03 GMT)

Squads and captains do not matter until there is a change from the administrative level right down to the coaches,selectors and even the groundstaff who prepare pitches.If this is not addressed,just changing and chopping players and captains would result in the same misery in which we presently find ourselves.

Posted by   on (March 8, 2014, 5:48 GMT)

my west indies term is playing someting look like cricket it is not...

Posted by dappasnappa533 on (March 8, 2014, 2:31 GMT)

@ openbat04 with Darren " i'm playing a test match' Bravo in the t20 team it frther weakens the batting. he soaks up a whole lot of dot balls, does not bowl, does not field that well. him being in there leaves a whole lot of work for the lower order to do because he does not score fast enough if at all

Posted by android_user on (March 7, 2014, 21:35 GMT)

can someone pls tell me the point of the cpl? good players came out of it but why do they never get a chance?

Posted by openbat04 on (March 7, 2014, 19:07 GMT)

they left out darren bravo,their batting is weak, i expect to see them getting bowled out a few times in this tournament.

Posted by rayinto on (March 7, 2014, 18:55 GMT)

West Indies are totally unpredictable as most of these guys just play good in 1 in 10 games. They have to hope that on any given day, 4 of them click. If anyone can recognize a world class player in this pack, please point them out to me.

Posted by   on (March 7, 2014, 16:40 GMT)

Right now there is only one format we play hopeful but doubtful!!!

Posted by   on (March 7, 2014, 13:01 GMT)

side is good, charles need to come back in form so that we can open up space for another fast bowler... too much all rounders as usual

Posted by   on (March 7, 2014, 12:47 GMT)

Andre Russell and Andre Fletcher continue to fail yet the selectors continue to keep them on the team. I may be proven wrong but they are both at sea at the highest levels of the game. This team can kiss the championship goodbye.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tour Results
West Indies v England at Bridgetown - Mar 13, 2014
England won by 5 runs
West Indies v England at Bridgetown - Mar 11, 2014
West Indies won by 5 wickets (with 7 balls remaining)
West Indies v England at Bridgetown - Mar 9, 2014
West Indies won by 27 runs
West Indies v England at North Sound - Mar 5, 2014
England won by 25 runs
West Indies v England at North Sound - Mar 2, 2014
England won by 3 wickets (with 31 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days