West Indies A v India A, 2nd unofficial ODI, Grenada June 29, 2012

India A demolish hosts for 76, level series

ESPNcricinfo staff

India A 184 for 7 (Rohit 39, Saxena 35, Holder 3-40) beat West Indies A 76 (Darekar 4-17, Dinda 2-4) by 108 runs

Akshay Darekar, the Maharashtra left-arm spinner, led a dominating performance by the India A bowlers as they demolished West Indies A for 76 in the second game to tie the three-match unofficial ODI series 1-1.

Just three home batsmen managed to get into double figures as Ashok Dinda put them under pressure from the outset. Dinda had Kieran Powell caught for a duck, and bowled Kirk Edwards before he could score as well. Bhuvneshwar Kumar got rid of Adrian Barath and Jonathan Carter.

Darekar and Jalaj Saxena, the Madhya Pradesh allrounder, took over after that as West Indies A crumbled. Darekar ended with 4 for 17 while Saxena picked up 2 for 23 as the hosts were dismissed in 27.1 overs.

Saxena had earlier starred with the bat as well, one of only two India A batsmen to go past 30, the other being Rohit Sharma (39). The India A top order could not make any contribution of note. Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara departed cheaply as the visitors slumped to 46 for 3.

Rohit and Manoj Tiwary seemed to have steadied things before Tiwary was run out for 20. It was Saxena's 35 that got India A closer to 200 eventually as they ended on 184 for 7. Jason Holder was the most successful bowler for West Indies A, taking 3 for 40.

The final ODI will be played on July 1.