West Indies news February 13, 2014

Gayle back in ODI, T20 squads

ESPNcricinfo staff

Croft: Missed opportunity to pick budding stars

Chris Gayle made a return to the West Indies squad for the limited-overs matches against Ireland, after missing the New Zealand tour due to a hamstring injury. Darren Sammy and Marlon Samuels also made comebacks to both squads after recovering from injuries which made them miss the limited-overs leg during the New Zealand tour.

Uncapped 23-year-old fast bowler Miguel Cummins was named in the ODI squad while Ravi Rampaul was only included in the T20 squad. Rampaul had returned home from the New Zealand tour after sustaining a thumb injury. He missed the last two ODIs and both T20s.

Cummins, who plays for Barbados, has an experience of only 18 domestic games - 13 first-class, three List A and two T20s. In first-class matches, he has 42 wickets at an average of 21.18 while in List A he has seven wickets at 18.14.

While Tino Best, Johnson Charles, Narsingh Deonarine and Chadwick Walton were dropped from both squads, allrounder Kieron Pollard was not considered due to the knee injury he sustained last year and continues to be under rehabilitation. Best played only one ODI against New Zealand and conceded 70 runs in nine overs. He leaked 77 more in the seven overs he bowled in the following two T20s, with three wickets.

Batsmen Deonarine and Charles were also dropped possibly because of their recent form in New Zealand. Deonarine played three of the five ODIs and managed only 38 runs. Charles played four ODIs, but managed 40 runs, including two ducks. In the two T20s, both of which West Indies lost, he could put together only 23 runs. Wicketkeeper-batsman Walton, who stayed back in New Zealand after the Tests as replacement for an injured Samuels, didn't fare any better. In the two ODIs and two T20s in which he got to bat, his scores read 17, 0, 9 and 0.

Krishmar Santokie and Dwayne Smith were recalled in the T20 squad, in place of Nikita Miller and Kieran Powell. Left-arm medium-pacer Santokie, with two international T20s to his name, came back to the squad after nearly two years having last played a T20 in March 2012 against Australia. Allrounder Smith also made a comeback after a long gap, with his last T20 for West Indies in December 2012.

West Indies will host Ireland for two T20s and one ODI with the first T20 on February 19 in Kingston.

West Indies ODI squad: Dwayne Bravo (capt), Darren Bravo, Miguel Cummins, Kirk Edwards, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Nikita Miller, Sunil Narine, Kieron Powell, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Marlon Samuels, Darren Sammy, Lendl Simmons.

West Indies T20 squad: Darren Sammy (capt), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith.