Women's Asia Cup, 1st day May 2, 2008

Raj leads Bangladesh rout

Cricinfo staff

India 250 for 3 (Raj 109*, Sharma 72) beat Bangladesh 68 (Seema 5-17, Goswami 4-18) by 182 runs

Mithali Raj scored an unbeaten century as India beat Bangladesh by 182 runs © Tigercricket.com

Bangladesh received an unpleasant welcome to the Asia Cup as India trampled all over them in a 182-run rout in the opening game in Kurunegala. Offspinner Pujare Seema, who is yet to play an international, and fast bowler Jhulan Goswami shared nine wickets between them, bowling Bangladesh out for 68.

Mithali Raj, the Indian captain, scored an attacking unbeaten century and added 110 with opener Jaya Sharma. Bangladesh used seven bowlers in trying to contain the run-scoring and the most economical was captain Salma Khatun who gave away only 30 runs in her 10 overs.

A target of 251 was always going to be an uphill task for Bangladesh, but what may have been an even more daunting prospect was to face Goswami, who is currently one of the fastest bowlers in the women's circuit. In her second over she removed Shukhtara for two, in her fourth, Panna Ghosh, also for two and in her fifth, Shathira Jakir for 12 and Rumana Ahmed for 0 - all four bowled. Seema also took two in an over and wrapped up the proceedings in 31 overs.

Sri Lanka 225 for 5 (Silva 76) beat Pakistan 129 for 8 (Mumtaz 33, de Alwis 2-30) by 96 runs

Opener Dedunu Silva scored 76 off 109 balls to take Sri Lanka to a convincing win over Pakistan in Dambulla. Her half-century stands with Chamari Polgampola and Shashikala Siriwardene allowed Sri Lanka to set Pakistan a target of 226. In reply, Pakistan crawled to 129 for 8 in 50 overs.

Silva hit 12 fours in her innings and was run out in the 37th over after taking her side to 150.

Urooj Mumtaz, the Pakistan captain, top scored for her side with 33 and Sajjida Shah was the only other batsman to score over 30. Left-arm spinner Suwini de Alwis picked up two wickets while Shiromala Weerakkody, Eshani Kaushalya and Polgampola took one each.

Sri Lanka play India and Pakistan play Bangladesh on Friday.