New Zealand v Australia, 2nd women's T20, Christchurch February 28, 2010

New Zealand knock over Australia again

Cricinfo staff

New Zealand 115 for 9 (Satterthwaite 42, Perry 3-14) beat Australia 98 (Nitschke 45, Bates 3-24) by 17 runs

New Zealand took their winning streak over Australia to five with a 17-run success in the second Twenty20 in Christchurch. The visitors had a chance to end their drought when they held the hosts to 115 for 9, but they were unable to break free in their reply and were dismissed on the final ball for 98.

Australia were a worrying 35 for 3, with Alex Blackwell and Lisa Sthalekar already gone, before Shelley Nitschke and Jess Cameron (16) combined. After Cameron was unfortunate to be lbw trying to sweep Kate Broadmore, Nitschke lifted the pace with a couple of strong boundaries to fine leg and straight down the ground, but they still needed 39 off four overs.

The asking rate was too high and Ellyse Perry (6) holed out at long off, giving Sara McGlashan the first of two good catches. Her running take at long-on took care of Nitschke for 45 off 51, ending Australia's charge, but McGlashan wasn't finished and her long throw helped run out Rene Farrell. Suzie Bates got 3 for 24, including the final-ball stumping of Julie Hunter, but all the bowlers had kept the pressure on.

Amy Satterthwaite, the Player of the Match, revived New Zealand after Perry crashed through the first three batsmen in the opening three overs. Perry was on a hat-trick after having Aimee Watkins lbw from the fourth ball of the day and picked up Maria Fahey to have the hosts 5 for 3 with Blackwell's sharp catch in the gully.

Satterthwaite arrived to save her side and put on 45 with McGlashan (16), who was dropped a couple of times, and was the eighth to fall after collecting 42 from 47 balls. A late push from Rachel Priest (14 off 9) took the team into three figures and gave them a match-winning total.

Sthalekar picked up two wickets, including bowling Sophie Devine with a big off break, to support Perry's 3 for 14. The teams' next engagement is an ODI at Queenstown before the series concludes with two games in Invercargill.