New Zealand v Australia, 4th Women's T20, Invercargill

McGlashan fifty sets up New Zealand victory

ESPNcricinfo staff

February 19, 2011

Text size: A | A

New Zealand Women 147 for 5 (McGlashan 62) beat Australia Women 133 for 6 (Broadmore 2-19) by 14 runs

Sara McGlashan plays the reverse sweep, New Zealand v Australia, 3rd Women's Twenty20, Invercargill, February 19, 2011
Sara McGlashan reverse sweeps during her half-century © Getty Images

Sara McGlashan's brisk half-century followed by an efficient performance from the bowlers helped New Zealand clinch a 14-run victory in the third Twenty20 against Australia and take a 2-1 lead in the five-match series.

New Zealand had lost their openers before the fifth over was completed after choosing to bat in Invercargill, but a third-wicket partnership of 97 between McGlashan and Amy Satterthwaite steadied the innings. Satterthwaite struck six boundaries in her 45 off 37 balls before she was dismissed in the 18th over. McGlashan was the fifth and last wicket to fall in the New Zealand innings, in the final over, after she had scored 62 off 50 balls to lead her team to 147 for 5. Australia used five bowlers and all apart from Ellyse Perry picked up a wicket each.

Australia's chase began steadily with Meg Lanning leading them to 56 for 1 after eight overs. New Zealand then struck two double-blows that crippled the innings. Leah Poulton and Lanning fell with the score on 56 and then Nicola Browne struck off successive deliveries to reduce Australia to 73 for 5. Lisa Sthalekar scored a rapid, unbeaten 32 off 20 balls but could only take her team to 133 for 6 at the end of 20 overs. Kate Broadmore picked up 2 for 19 while Browne had figures of 2 for 24.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Fixtures Results
1st ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 9, 2015 ()
2nd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 11, 2015 ()
3rd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 13, 2015 ()
1st T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 15, 2015 ()
2nd T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 16, 2015 ()
Complete fixtures »