2006
AK Fazlul Haque
25,000
Yes
Ispahani End, Aqua Paints End
Football
23:29, Tue Dec 06, 2016 (UTC +0600)
Shere Bangla National Stadium
 

Records and statistics

Bangladesh v India - May 25-27, 2007 Scorecard
Bangladesh v England - Oct 28-30, 2016 Scorecard
Test records | Results | High totals | High scores | Most runs | Best bowling | Most wickets | Partnerships | Statsguru
Bangladesh v Zimbabwe - Dec 8, 2006 Scorecard
Bangladesh v England - Oct 9, 2016 Scorecard
ODI records | Results | High totals | High scores | Most runs | Best bowling | Most wickets | Partnerships | Statsguru
Bangladesh v West Indies - Oct 11, 2011 Scorecard
Bangladesh v India - Mar 6, 2016 Scorecard
T20I records | Results | High totals | High scores | Most runs | Best bowling | Most wickets | Partnerships | Statsguru
Records index

Profile

The Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium, named after AK Fazlul Haque, one of the country's most renowned leaders and freedom fighters in the 1940s, is situated about 10 kilometres outside the centre of Dhaka. The move from the Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka to Mirpur was met with much resistance, but the BCB had decided they needed a stadium dedicated exclusively to cricket, and carried on despite criticism.

The most striking feature of the ground is the drainage facility which is probably the best in the subcontinent. The ground was originally built for football and athletics and was hence rectangular in shape. To bring it back to a shape suited for cricket, a lot of demolition had to be done, and also the athletics tracks had to be dug up. About three feet of soil was excavated to remove all the red clay. PVC pipes were fit in before filling it up with rock chips and sand and then grass. The slope is nice and even, a difference of 29 inches from the wicket to the boundary.

The ground hosted its first Test when Bangladesh played India in May 2007; a timely start was made possible because of the efficient drainage after heavy overnight showers. The wicket was pretty flat and slow, but that could have more to do with the home team's mindset of not expecting to win.

The floodlights have to be changed - currently they have the ones used for football matches. Although not completely ready yet, the stadium looks impressive, and should become one of the more noted venues in the subcontinent.

The triangular spaces under the stands outside have been used for furniture shops. The grassless plot next to the ground, which plays venue to about 20 simultaneous matches with a tape-tennis ball every evening and morning, adds to the stadium's reputation of being the home of Bangladesh cricket's new home.
Sidharth Monga May 2007

Fixtures

2016
Tue Dec 6 (20 ovs)
13:00 local | 07:00 GMT
02:00 EST | 01:00 CST | 23:00 PST
Bangladesh Premier League
Eliminator - Chittagong Vikings v Rajshahi Kings
Tue Dec 6 (20 ovs)          
17:45 local | 11:45 GMT
06:45 EST | 05:45 CST | 03:45 PST
Bangladesh Premier League
Qualifier 1 - Dhaka Dynamites v Khulna Titans
Wed Dec 7 (20 ovs)          
17:45 local | 11:45 GMT
06:45 EST | 05:45 CST | 03:45 PST
Bangladesh Premier League
Qualifier 2 - Khulna Titans v Rajshahi Kings
Fri Dec 9 (20 ovs)          
18:15 local | 12:15 GMT
07:15 EST | 06:15 CST | 04:15 PST
Bangladesh Premier League
Final - Dhaka Dynamites v TBC (Reserve Day)
Day and Night - Day and Night International Matches - International Matches Live - Covered by Cricinfo
No responsibility is taken by Cricinfo for the accuracy of this information.

Latest Photos

A helicopter takes part in a security exercise in Dhaka ahead of the first ODI, Bangladesh v England, 1st ODI, Dhaka, October 6, 2016
A helicopter takes part in a security exercise in Dhaka
© Getty Images
Security forces drill in Dhaka ahead of the first ODI, Bangladesh v England, 1st ODI, Dhaka, October 6, 2016
Security forces drill in Dhaka ahead of the first ODI
© Getty Images
Security personnel  and commandos conduct a mock drill at the Shere Bangla National Stadium  on the eve of the first ODI between Bangladesh and England, Mirpur, October 6, 2016
Security personnel and commandos conduct a mock drill
© STR/AFP
A helicopter hovers over the Academy ground near the Shere Bangla National Stadium  on the eve of the first ODI between Bangladesh and England, Mirpur, October 6, 2016
A helicopter hovers over the Academy ground near the Shere Bangla National Stadium
© STR/AFP
 
View the full index of related photos »
Ground Fixtures Ground Results
Eliminator: Vikings v Raj Kings at Dhaka - Dec 6
Raj Kings won by 3 wickets (with 9 balls remaining)
Qualifier 1: Dynamites v Titans at Dhaka - Dec 6
Dynamites won by 54 runs
Qualifier 2: Titans v Raj Kings at Dhaka
Dec 7, 2016 (17:45 local | 11:45 GMT | 06:45 EST | 05:45 CST | 03:45 PST)
Final: Dynamites v TBA at Dhaka
Dec 9, 2016 (18:15 local | 12:15 GMT | 07:15 EST | 06:15 CST | 04:15 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »