2010 ICC World Twenty20

Barbados to host World Twenty20 final

Cricinfo staff

July 5, 2009

Text size: A | A

Barbados has been confirmed as the venue for the final of the ICC World Twenty20 in 2010. The tournament will be staged at four venues - Barbados, Guyana, St Kitts and St Lucia - and the final will be played at the Kensington Oval on May 16.

Notable is the return of Zimbabwe to the Twenty20 scene after they were overlooked for this year's global tournament. They have been paired with New Zealand and Sri Lanka, the other finalist from this year, in Group C.

Defending champions Pakistan and Bangladesh have been grouped together in the tournament next year and face each other first up on May 1. Also with Pakistan and Bangladesh in Group A are Australia, who failed to cross the first round in this summer's edition. India are in a pool with South Africa and a qualifier team. The hosts, West Indies, are with England and a second qualifying team in Group D.

The 2007 World Cup, the premier 50-over tournament, was held in the West Indies and the World Twenty20 will present an opportunity to the island nations to set right some of the criticism directed at the 2007 tournament.

Haroon Lorgat, the ICC chief executive, was confident that the tournament would be a success among the spectators. "One measure of success will be to fill the venues and to try to achieve this we have worked hard with the West Indies Cricket Board to ensure the ticket prices are extremely competitive," he said.

"In Barbados, Guyana, St Kitts and St Lucia we have four outstanding venues, something that was shown in 2007 when they hosted matches in the ICC Cricket World Cup, and we know that West Indian spectators enjoy the format as they have already embraced Twenty20 at domestic level."

The tournament will also see women's matches played alongside the men, a concept that was used in the recently concluded World Twenty20 in England. "I'm delighted we have retained the men's and women's tournaments in one event with the respective semi-finals and finals being played on the same days at the same venues," said Lorgat. "This will again provide women's cricket with a great platform to showcase the talents of the top players."

In an effort to spread out major tournaments so two important events are not held close to each other, the ICC has decided to host the Twenty20 World Cup in 2010, between the Champions Trophy in October 2009 and the World Cup to be held in 2011.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Series/Tournaments: ICC World Twenty20
Teams: West Indies
Tournament Results
Australia v England at Bridgetown - May 16, 2010
England won by 7 wickets (with 18 balls remaining)
Australia v Pakistan at Gros Islet - May 14, 2010
Australia won by 3 wickets (with 1 ball remaining)
England v Sri Lanka at Gros Islet - May 13, 2010
England won by 7 wickets (with 24 balls remaining)
West Indies v Australia at Gros Islet - May 11, 2010
Australia won by 6 wickets (with 22 balls remaining)
India v Sri Lanka at Gros Islet - May 11, 2010
Sri Lanka won by 5 wickets (with 0 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days