Western Australia batsman William Bosisto will captain the Cricket Australia XI in next month's Matador Cup, with former Test player Brad Hodge named as the side's coach. Bosisto is one of five men in the squad who also played for the CA XI in last year's tournament, along with his vice-captain Matthew Short, James Bazley, Liam Hatcher and Ryan Lees.
The teenage New South Wales spinner Arjun Nair, who made his Sheffield Shield debut last summer, is part of the 14-man group, having made his List A debut for the National Performance Squad in this winter's A series in Queensland. Other NPS players from this year who join Nair in the CA XI squad are Tom O'Donnell, Sam Grimwade, Sam Harper, David Grant and Josh Inglis.
Fast bowler Jhye Richardson, who played for Western Australia in last year's Matador Cup, is in the CA XI this summer. Western Australia's Jake Carder and New South Wales' Ryan Gibson are the only members of the group with no List A experience.
"This is a great opportunity for these emerging players to test their skills and develop their cricket by competing at domestic level," CA's national talent manager Greg Chappell said. "The squad contains a number of players who have already played domestic cricket. Hopefully this opportunity will allow these players to push for further selection within states or at the national level.
"It's been really pleasing to see the development of players from last year's CA XI. Hilton Cartwright and Mitch Swepson are two examples of players who have taken that opportunity with both hands, and have gone from strength to strength over the past 12 months.
"Players in this year's squad now have the opportunity to follow that same path, and we are confident this side will be competitive throughout the tournament."
Cricket Australia XI squad William Bosisto (capt, WA), Matthew Short (vice-capt, Vic), James Bazley (Qld), Jake Carder (WA), Ryan Gibson (NSW), David Grant (SA), Sam Grimwade (Vic), Sam Harper (Vic), Liam Hatcher (NSW), Josh Inglis (WA), Ryan Lees (Tas), Arjun Nair (NSW), Tom O'Donnell (Vic), Jhye Richardson (WA).