Zimbabwe quicks Tendai Chatara and Tinashe Panyangara are unfit, and hence have not been picked for the upcoming home Tests against Sri Lanka. Chris Mpofu, who last played a Test nearly five years ago, and uncapped seamer Carl Mumba were named in the 16-man squad. Another uncapped player - batsman Tarisai Musakanda - was picked; both Mumba and Musakanda represented Zimbabwe A against Pakistan A earlier this month.
Senior batsman Vusi Sibanda still did not find a place in the Test squad, and spinner John Nyumbu was also dropped after he went wicketless in the second Test against New Zealand. Malcolm Waller returned to the Test side after scoring four straight half-centuries against Pakistan A in three 50-over and one first-class match.
Chatara had fractured his left leg last year and healed to play the ODIs and T20s againt India at home in June 2016. He was named for the two home New Zealand Tests after that but had to pull out because of an ankle injury he picked up in the warm-up game against New Zealanders. Panyangara, on the other hand, failed to recover from his lower-back injury. Michael Chinouya was recalled at the time to play New Zealand and continued to keep his place despite picking only three wickets in three innings against them.
Mumba, 21, has played 16 first-class matches for 59 wickets at an impressive average of 17.37. Musakanda, another 21-year-old, has 12 first-class matches to his name in which he has scored 607 runs at 27.59 and five fifties.
Zimbabwe's batting line-up looked more settled as Hamilton Masakadza returned after missing the second Test against New Zealand due to a back injury. But there was no place for Chamu Chibhabha, which meant it was not certain who would open with Tino Mawoyo.
Test squad Graeme Cremer (capt.), Tino Mawoyo, Hamilton Masakadza, Craig Ervine, Sean Williams, Regis Chakabva, Peter Moor, Donald Tiripano, Chris Mpofu, Taurai Muzarabani, Michael Chinouya, Brian Chari, Sikandar Raza, Malcolm Waller, Carl Mumba, Tarisai Musakanda.