At Sharjah, January 8, 2016 (floodlit). Afghanistan won by five runs. ‡Afghanistan 187-7 (20 overs) (Mohammad Shahzad 33, Usman Ghani 42, Gulbadeen Naib 37; A. G. Cremer 3-17); Zimbabwe 182-7 (20 overs) (H. Masakadza 33, M. N. Waller 49*; Dawlat Zadran 3-32). MoM: Gulbadeen Naib. T20I debuts: P. J. Moor, D. T. Tiripano (Zimbabwe).
Gulbadeen reprised his heroics of the previous match with 37 from 20 balls to propel Afghanistan to a total that proved just beyond Zimbabwe. They started the final over needing 21, but Dawlat Zadran sent down a wide and two high no-balls, then Luke Jongwe slammed a four and a six. However, needing another six off the final delivery, he sliced a catch to Gulbadeen at deep cover. Earlier, Shahzad had smashed 33 from 17, losing two balls out of the ground, before Cremer's leg-breaks slowed things down. Masakadza objected to the send-off he received from wicketkeeper Shahzad when he was bowled in the 12th over, and had to be guided away from the celebratory Afghan huddle by the umpire.