Perth Scorchers 3 for 174 (Gibbs 71, M Marsh 41*) beat Melbourne Stars 8 for 163 by 11 runs
Herschelle Gibbs' run-a-ball 71 underpinned a healthy Scorchers total, which was finished off by Mitchell Marsh's 26-ball 41, featuring four sixes. In reply, the Stars were promisingly placed on 1 for 75 in the eighth over with Luke Wright and James Faulkner well set, but when they fell, and David Hussey went first ball as part of a double-wicket maiden by Ben Edmondson, the Scorchers took control.
Perth Scorchers 2 for 142 (S Marsh 68) beat Melbourne Stars 2 for 183 (White 88, Hodge 70*) by eight wickets (DL method)
There was an extraordinary conclusion to this match, which came down to the Scorchers needing three off the last ball of a rain-reduced chase. James Faulkner, controversially named captain with Shane Warne on the verge of an over-rate suspension - Warne later copped a code of conduct charge for it - over-stepped (there were also just three fielders inside the ring, so it was a no-ball in two ways), while a bye was also scrambled. It meant the Scorchers needed one to win and Mike Hussey pumped the ball over mid-on. Shaun Marsh had kept the Scorchers in touch in a tough chase as he hit 68 off 40 balls including 27 off the only over from Alex Keath, who went on to become an AFL player.
Hobart Hurricanes 3 for 142 (Paine 65) beat Melbourne Stars 8 for 141 (Hodge 51, Boyce 3-11) by seven wickets
Tim Paine led the Hurricanes into the final as they knocked off a mediocre total with ease. The Stars had been in trouble on 4 for 45 before Brad Hodge's half-century hauled them to something more respectable. Legspinner Cameron Boyce claimed the key wickets, removing Wright, Glenn Maxwell and David Hussey even though he wasn't asked to bowl his four overs.
Perth Scorchers 7 for 144 (Carberry 50, Hastings 3-27) beat Melbourne Stars 126 (Tye 4-18) by 18 runs
By now, the Stars were sick of coming to the WACA. This game was theirs for the taking when they were 1 for 67 in the 11th over, despite Cameron White's laborious 24-ball 13, but things unravelled against Andrew Tye, who removed Wright and Peter Handscomb in the space of three balls. When Kevin Pietersen fell to Nathan Coulter-Nile, they were 5 for 88 and there was too much for the lower order to do.
Sydney Thunder 7 for 181 (Khawaja 70, Stoinis 3-30) beat Melbourne Stars 9 for 176 (Pietersen 74) by three wickets
The Stars made it to the final this time, but Usman Khawaja's 40-ball 70 took the Thunder most of the way towards their target. It became a nervy finish as the middle-order stumbled close to the line before Ben Rohrer ended all doubt with a six in the final over in what was Mike Hussey's final match on Australian soil. Pietersen had dominated the Stars innings with a thrilling 39-ball 74 but the next-best score was Wright's 23.
Perth Scorchers 3 for 139 (S Marsh 56*) beat Melbourne Stars 8 for 136 (Gotch 48, Johnson 3-3) by seven wickets
The WACA. Again. There was no way back for the Stars after Mitchell Johnson claimed two wickets in the first over and a third shortly after - that of Pietersen - as they stumbled to 4 for 26 at the end of the Powerplay. Seb Gotch did his best but the total was never likely to challenge the Scorchers. So it proved as Shaun Marsh eased to an unbeaten half-century. After the match, Pietersen was fined A$ 5000 for having called an umpiring decision when the Stars were fielding "a shocker" as he was on the mic with the broadcasters.
Melbourne Renegades 5 for 145 (Cooper 43*) beat Melbourne Stars 7 for 132 (Dunk 57) by 13 runs
The biggest missed chance of them all. The Stars were 0 for 93 in their chase - requiring 53 off 43 balls - and just in need of finishing the job when the wheels came off after Marcus Stoinis was bowled by Boyce. They lost 7 for 19 and in the end were well short of the target when the chase limped to a close amid celebratory Renegades players. They had earlier reduced the Renegades to 5 for 65 in the 11th before Tom Cooper and Dan Christian resurrected the innings.
Sydney Sixers 7 for 142 (Zampa 3-21) beat Melbourne Stars 99 (Abbott 3-23) by 43 runs
Similar to the previous year, but the Stars' batting slide started early on this occasion. Having done so much right in the field they were three down inside the Powerplay and soon subsided further. Their chase was done in the 11th over when Maxwell picked out long-off.
Sydney Sixers 5 for 116 (Philippe 52, Maxwell 2-17) beat Melbourne Stars 6 for 97 (Larkin 38*, Lyon 2-19) by 19 runs
This season, they got a second chance to get it right. But once again, when it was time to grab the big prize, the Stars faltered. This one might not even have taken place, with Sydney expecting torrential, non-stop rain, but it relented long enough for a 12-overs-a-side contest. The Sixers were asked to bat and put up a strong 116 with Josh Philippe hitting a 29-ball 52. Chasing 117, the Stars were three down - including star performers Stoinis and Maxwell - by the third over with 18 on the board, and it never quite looked up for them, Nick Larkin's 38 not out in 26 balls only reducing the margin of defeat.

Andrew McGlashan is a deputy editor at ESPNcricinfo