Lahiru Thirimanne has made himself unavailable for Sri Lanka's upcoming two-Test series against West Indies starting on Sunday in Galle.

The 22-member squad, led by Dimuth Karunaratne and also featuring senior allrounder Angelo Mathews, has as many as four uncapped players: batters Charith Asalanka and Kamil Mishara, legspinning allrounder Suminda Lakshan and fast bowler Chamika Gunasekara.

Minod Bhanuka and Chamika Karunaratne, both one-Test old, also made the cut. Bhanuka, the top-order batter, makes a return after missing the Bangladesh Tests at home in April, while allrounder Karunaratne, who debuted against Australia two years ago, returns on the back of impressive limited-overs performances, both at home against India in July and at the T20 World Cup.

The squad has four frontline spinners in Lakshan Sandakan, Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama and Lasith Embuldenia along with six pace options. Suranga Lakmal spearheads the seam attack that also has Lahiru Kumara, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando and rookie Gunasekara.

Both the Tests - part of the new WTC cycle - will be played in Galle.

Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Minod Bhanuka, Roshen Silva, Ramesh Mendis, Kamil Mishara, Chamika Karunaratne, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Embuldeniya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Suminda Lakshan, Suranga Lakmal, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Asitha Fernando, Chamika Gunasekara