The ICC Champions Trophy's technical committee has approved requests from four countries to replace players in their 14-man squads for the tournament.

Maurice Odumbe, the former Kenyan captain who was recently banned for five years for involvement in match-fixing, has been replaced by Brijal Patel. Bangladesh's captain Habibul Bashar was ruled out with injured thumb, and he will be replaced by Faisal Hossain. Muttiah Muralitharan, who is recovering from shoulder surgery, has been replaced in Sri Lanka's squad by the legspinner Kaushal Lokuarachchi, while the injured West Indian fast bowler Jermaine Lawson has been replaced by Darren Sammy.

The technical committee is chaired by David Richardson, the former South African wicketkeeper who is now the ICC's general manager - cricket. It also includes David Clarke, representing the ECB (the tournament hosts), Campbell Jamieson of the ICC, the ECB's John Carr, and two former Test players on the ICC's cricket committee in Sunil Gavaskar and Michael Holding.