JP Duminy will be given the chance to mature at the National Academy © Getty Images
A 19-strong squad will attend South Africa's National Academy, the tenth since it's inception in 1995, at the High Performance Centre at Pretoria University. There was no intake last year because of the restructuring of the domestic scene in South Africa.

The squad includes the best young talent from around the country, many of whom have yet to play franchise cricket. However, JP Duminy, who has already played five ODI's for South Africa, is one of the batsmen selected, after a successful domestic season for Western Province Boland, where he averaged 67 in first-class cricket. Duminy, 20, is regarded as one of South Africa's brightest batting talents, and represented South Africa A against England during the winter.

The lack of quality spin bowlers currently playing domestic cricket in the franchises is highlighted with the selection of five young spinners. Tyron Pillay is a promising legspinner, while Thandi Tshabalala, an offspinner, recently bowled 68 overs in the SuperSport series final - although he failed to take a wicket.

Anton Ferreira, the Cricket South Africa manager of coaching, said: "We are very excited about this intake, and we feel we have a group of players who have the potential to go right to the top of the game. In identifying them the selection panel took into account the potential needs of the national team, hence the inclusion of five spinners. We also feel that a player like JP Duminy who has already had a taste of international cricket will gain leadership and mentoring skills while also developing as a cricketer at the academy."

Squad Kyle Smith (KwaZulu Natal), Jaco Booysen (Easterns), Francois du Plessis (Nashua Titans), JP Duminy (WP/Boland), Miles Williamson (Western Province), Ugashen Govender (KwaZulu Natal), Morne Morkel (Titans), Frans Nkuna (Northerns), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Eastern Province), Mario Olivier (Boland) Brendon Adams (Boland), Thandi Tshabalala (Eagles), Aaron Phangiso (Northerns), Tyron Pillay (Dolphins), Waylain September (Boland), Vernon Philander (WP/Boland), Jandre Coetzee (Griqualand West), Daryn Smit (KwaZulu Natal), Ryan Canning (Western Province)