Toss: West Indies.

The West Indians returned to form, overhauling Pakistan's 220 without losing a wicket. Their only disappointment was that Lara, who had responded to the opener's job with his highest score in limited-overs internationals, missed the chance of a hundred when Wasim Akram's yorker struck his right foot. He had struck 11 fours and faced 101 balls, whereas Haynes contributed a more stately 93 from 144 and offered three chances. The winning runs, however, were provided by Aqib Javed, whose two bouncers were called as no-balls. Pakistan were without their captain, Imran Khan, who was injured. His deputy, Javed Miandad, pleased the crowd with a lively 57 from 61 balls, and shared an unbroken stand of 123 with Ramiz Raja. They took 81 from their last ten overs, Ramiz finally cutting loose, but Pakistan paid for their slow scoring earlier. In keeping with the tournament's unexpected fashion, Richardson bowled his off-spinners, Hooper and Harper, in tandem for 13 overs, enabling West Indies to complete their 50 overs half an hour ahead of schedule.

Man of the Match: B. C. Lara. Attendance: 14,162.