At Hobart, December 18. New Zealand won by four wickets. Toss: South Africa.
New Zealand recorded their first win of the competition, overhauling South Africa's modest total of 147 with 5.5 overs to spare. Opener Young made 74, with seven fours, but only Cairns of his colleagues reached double figures as Matthews, with four for 38, made inroads. Earlier, South Africa had found batting equally difficult: they were 112 for six after 45 overs, and hit only five boundaries throughout. Medium-pacer Larsen conceded just 12 runs from his ten overs.
Man of the Match: G. R. Larsen. Attendance: 3,957.