The cutting of Mick Lewis from Australia's list has led to a smaller Victoria outfit © Getty Images

Victoria's selectors have dropped 13 players, including the squad's two back-up wicketkeepers, in a smaller contract list for 2006-07. Shaun Graf, the Cricket Victoria operations manager, said they faced a "reasonable squeeze" on the budget after Cameron White and Mick Lewis lost their Cricket Australia contracts and had to be covered by the state.

The glovemen Brad Pilon, who played the final three Pura Cup games last season, and Peter Roach have been cut from the squad, with Adam Crosthwaite retained as the No.1. Graeme Rummans, Brendan Joseland, Tim Welsford, Clinton McKay and Simon Dart also had their full-time deals discontinued while the rookies Matthew Innes, Cameron Huckett, Matthew Harrison and Robert Quiney were axed. Grant Lindsay and Liam Buchanan, who both played nine one-day games for the state last season, also missed out.

New players to the squad on rookie deals were the Australia Under-19 players Jon Holland, the left-arm spinner, and the batsman Aaron Finch. The fast bowler Matthew Gale and Peter Nevill and Grant Baldwin also joined the junior section of the outfit. "We're delighted that these emerging players can be supported alongside our existing group," Graf said. Cricket Victoria plan to add one more rookie to their squad.

Squad Jason Arnberger, Rob Cassell, Adam Crosthwaite, Gerard Denton, Shane Harwood, David Hussey, Nick Jewell, Michael Klinger, Brad Knowles, Michael Lewis, Lloyd Mash, Andrew McDonald, Jon Moss, Dirk Nannes, Peter Siddle, Cameron White, Allan Wise.

Rookies Grant Baldwin, Aiden Blizzard, Aaron Finch, Matthew Gale, Jon Holland, Peter Nevill.