Brendon McCullum was the one-day batsman of the year © Getty Images

Brendon McCullum has been named New Zealand's Player of the Year following a prolific season during which he starred at both international and domestic level. McCullum was given the award for 2007-08 at a ceremony in Auckland in addition to receiving the Walter Hadlee Trophy for one-day batting.

Dion Nash, one of the national selectors and a member of the awards selection panel, said McCullum had earned the recognition not only through his explosive batting but also his first-rate glovework. "In the domestic and international one-day and Twenty20 competitions he outperformed everyone else," Nash said.

"Who will forget his 170 from 108 balls for the Otago Volts in the State Shield final or his 80 from 28 balls against Bangladesh in Queenstown? While his batting was breathtaking at times, so were some of the wicketkeeping catches he took. During a long and demanding season he retained his extremely high standards throughout, including the Test series against England in England."

McCullum's year also featured one of the most memorable innings in Twenty20 history, when he kicked off the inaugural IPL match with a brilliant 158 from 73 balls. But despite his all-round success McCullum missed out on the new JR Reid Best Allrounder award, which went to Jacob Oram, who scored two Test centuries, three ODI fifties and collected 37 first-class wickets at 16.12

The Walter Hadlee Trophy for bowling in one-day internationals went to Kyle Mills, who over the past year was making his return from a severe knee injury. Mills took 40 ODI wickets over the past 12 months, including a career best of 5 for 25 against South Africa in Durban last November.

The Redpath Cup for the best batsman in first-class cricket went to Ross Taylor, who made his Test debut in South Africa late last year. Taylor's maiden Test century came in Hamilton, where he helped set up a New Zealand victory over England, and he added another Test hundred in a losing side at Old Trafford.

The Winsor Cup, for first-class bowling, went to Chris Martin. One of three players who appeared in all ten Tests during the past year, Martin collected 34 wickets at 30.64.

Nathan McCullum was named the State Cricketer of the Year following an excellent all-round 2007-08 season in which he averaged 36.10 in first-class cricket and also picked up 17 wickets. The Young Player of the Year was Kane Williamson, who captained New Zealand to the semi-finals of the Under-19 World Cup in Malaysia.

Nicola Browne was given the Ruth Martin Cup as the best batsman in women's cricket, Helen Watson picked up the Phyl Blackler Cup for women's bowling and Sara McGlashan was named Women's State Cricketer of the Year. Richard Hadlee was also recognised for outstanding services to cricket and received the Sutcliffe Medal.