Jason Dawes, a 20-year-old fast bowler who represented West Indies Under-19s, has been included in Jamaica's squad for their opening fixture of the season.
Dawes and Horace Miller, who was in the West Indies team for the Under-19 World Cup last year, are the only uncapped members of the squad. Jamaica, the title holders, begin their campaign on January 9 against Leeward Islands.
The squad doesn't include Jamaica's West Indies players currently on tour in New Zealand, but Wavell Hinds returns after he cut short his season last year to play for Derbyshire. Jamaica have yet to announce a captain, but Tamar Lambert is widely expected to be named.
Carib Beer announced in December that they had discontinued sponsorship of West Indies' first-class competition because the "opportunities provided by the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) did not fit" with their priorities at the moment. Despite this financial setback, however, the lack of a sponsor might work in West Indies' favour: for the first time in 40 years of regional cricket, teams will play 12 matches - the most in history.
Jamaica squad Donovan Pagon, Brenton Parchment, Wavell Hinds, Danza Hyatt, Horace Miller, Tamar Lambert, David Bernard, Keith Hibbert, Lorenzo Ingram, Odean Brown, Gavin Wallace, Andre Russell, Jason Dawes, Andrew Richardson