India Women have retained most of their squad from the 2009 Women's World Cup for the World Twenty20 to be held in England in June. The two players not included are allrounder Thirush Kamini, who has represented India in 19 ODIs and one Twenty20 international, and left-arm spinner Sravanthi Naidu. Jhulan Goswami will lead the side, and Amita Chopra, like in the World Cup, will be her deputy.
In the squad of 15, the selectors have announced three new inclusions - Babita Mandlik, Latika Kumari and offspinner Diana David. Mandlik has played three ODIs, but not made an impression yet, managing just six runs. David, on the other hand, has done well with eight wickets in five ODIs, averaging 15. The World Twenty20 is the first of its kind for women, and will be held simultaneously with the men's version in England.
India Women: Jhulan Goswami (capt), Amita Sharma, Mithali Raj, Anjum Chopra, Rumeli Dhar, Sulakshana Naik (wk), Anagha Deshpande (wk), Priyanka Roy, Reema Malhotra, Gauhar Sultana, Harman Preet Kaur, Poonam Raut, Babita Mandlik, Latika Kumari, Diana David.