At Dr D. Y. Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai, March 12, 2010. Kolkata Knight Riders won by 11 runs. Kolkata Knight Riders 161-4 (20 overs) (O. A. Shah 58*, A. D. Mathews 65*); ‡Deccan Chargers 150-7 (20 overs) (A. C. Gilchrist 54). MoM: A. D. Mathews.

Angelo Mathews and Owais Shah resurrected Kolkata's hopes, putting on 130 after Chaminda Vaas started the third IPL tournament with two wickets in the first four balls. Despite the customary breezy start from Adam Gilchrist (54 from 35 balls), the defending champions were beaten in an otherwise drab match.

Nagraj Gollapudi is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo