At Bangalore, April 8, 2010. Deccan Chargers won by seven wickets. Royal Challengers Bangalore 184-6 (20 overs) (J. H. Kallis 68, V. Kohli 58); ‡Deccan Chargers 186-3 (19.2 overs) (A. C. Gilchrist 32, T. L. Suman 78*, A. Symonds 53*). MoM: T. L. Suman.

The Chargers' death bowling was exposed once again as Bangalore fought back from 68-4 after 10.1 overs and stole 92 off the final 36 balls. But Tirumalasetti Suman chose the occasion to display his pedigree, steadily opening up before Andrew Symonds led the final push. Deccan picked up the first of the five successive wins they now needed to make the semis.

Nagraj Gollapudi is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo